Mac Os X Tutorials And App Reviews From Howtech....!

About 20 results out of 1582 (0.23 seconds)
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 11347

Likes : 28

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:11:59.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Juggling between two or three tasks while working on your Mac can be a bit of a drag, unless you're using a helpful new feature available in El Capitan – Split View. Let's say we're transcribing a YouTube video and need to simultaneously write and look at the video and a little dictionary. Instead of jumping from one window to another, here's a more handy way. Step 1. In the upper left corner of any of your open windows, you have a little green button. Click on it and press it until your window will turn itself into a half-window. Good! Now you can see all your other active apps on the right side of your window, without jumping from one window to another. Step 2. To return your view to normality, click and press the green button again on one of your screens or apps. Now you are in full screen mode again. Step 3. There is also another way to launch Split View mode. Simply activate the Mission Control app. You can see us doing it via Launchpad: it will show you all your current active apps on one screen. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5347

Likes : 18

DisLikes : 4

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:48.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to View Hidden Files on Mac. Here is how to use Mac’s Terminal to view hidden files. To open Terminal, go to Applications - Utilities and double click on Terminal app icon. Type the following commands in terminal and press enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES killall Finder After all the finder windows disappear and reappear you will be able to view hidden files: To unhide the folders type the following commands in Terminal and press Enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO killall Finder
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 26763

Likes : 42

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:44.000Z

Learn how add and remove applications from the startup list in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change startup programs on Mac. In order to change startup programs on Mac, you have to go to "System preferences". In following window choose "Users&Groups". In next window click on "Login Items". To add an application, press "+"(plus). From the applications folder select the programs you want to be started at the startup and click "Add". If you want to remove an application from the startup list, select the application and press "-"(minus).
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2785

Likes : 6

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2013-06-05T07:30:09.000Z

Watch this tutorial to learn how to install and setup Audacity for Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Let's look at how to download and install the popular audio editor Audacity. Step 1: Download Audacity for Mac Visit the Audacity website either by searching on your favorite search engine, or directly to audacity.sourceforge.com. Click on the 'Download' link, and then select 'Audacity for Mac'. Here you can download either the disk image file or a zip file which will download faster since it is a smaller size. Step 2: Install Audacity Once the download is complete, either open the disk image or the zip file depending on which you downloaded, and locate the 'Audacity'. Move this file (the application in itself) to your Applications folder by clicking and dragging. Step 3: Additional resources Audacity becomes much more useful with the addition of plug-ins. Head to the same website where we downloaded the app and again on the 'Download' page for Mac OSX you will find the 'Optional downloads'. I will use the 'LAME MP3 encoder as an example. Clicking on the link, you will be presented with the installation instructions. First head to the link indicated to download the plug-in. I am looking for version 3.98.2, which I will click to download. Once downloaded and mounted, simply double-click the .pkg and follow the installation instructions. Once completed you will be able to export MP3's from Audacity. Leave a comment below or contact us by email. This was a HowTech.tv tutorial. Thanks for watching!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 117786

Likes : 291

DisLikes : 9

Published Date : 2013-09-25T13:29:45.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Follow this step by step guide to learn what mac x11 is. Learn how to download, install and make xquartz the default x11 server. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will give you an overview on what Mac X11 is. Mac X11 is basically an implementation of the X window system, more commonly referred to as the X graphical user interface. It is primarily used on UNIX based systems. X11 is basically the eleventh version of the X window system. Mac OS X is completely made of the UNIX core structure and therefore Mac X11 allows you to run the applications developed on a UNIX environment on a Mac. Step 1 -- Install X11 First of all, go to the Utilities folder and click on the X11 icon. As a result, a dialog box will open up asking you to install X11. Simply click on the Continue button to proceed with the process. Step 2 -- Download xquartz If you are running MAC OSX Mountain Lion, X11 is installed by default. But for all the client libraries and server, you need to download the Xquartz package from the following link: xquartz.macosforge.org Step 3 -- Open the setup file Once the package has been downloaded, simply open the wizard and go through the installation process to install Xquartz on your system. Step 4 -- Log out Once you are done, you would be required to log out and log back in order to make Xquartz the default mac X11 server. Step 5 -- Use X enabled terminal When you log in to your profile and go to the utilities folder, you will notice that the x11 icon has now changed. Simply click on the Xquartz icon to open the application. Now there are a ton of things you can do with a fully functional X enabled terminal. For example, you can use UNIX based commands to navigate through and open applications. For the purpose of this tutorial, we want to open the calculator application. In order to do that, type in the following: /usr/X11/bin/xcalc and then hit enter. As a result, a fully functional scientific calculator will open. In this manner, you can work with the mac x11 server.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 151052

Likes : 318

DisLikes : 32

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:11.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to use Boot Camp Assistant in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use Boot Camp on Mac. Lets start with inserting Windows installation disk and an empty USB Flash drive. Now proceed to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start the Boot Camp Assistant. When the Boot Camp Assistant is launched, press Continue. In the next window, check the "Download the Latest Windows Support Software from Apple" and "Install Windows 7" options. In the next menu choose "Save a copy to an External Drive". For the Windows to recognize this drive, it needs to be formatted into the FAT file system. To do that, go to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start Disk Utility. Select your External USB Flash Drive from the list on the left and go to the "Erase" tab. Select the "MS-DOS (FAT)" file system and name your drive, for example "SUPPORT". Press the "Erase" button below and confirm this action. After the formatting is complete, we can close Disk Utility and go back to the Boot Camp Assistant. Press Continue. Choose where to download the Windows support files, in our case it will be USB external drive named SUPPORT. Press SAVE. The download process will take about 20 minutes. When the download is complete the partitioning menu will appear. Choose the size of the partition. There are two options: you can cut your hard drive in half by pressing "Divide Equally" button or you can move the dot to specify how much disk space you would like to allocate for Windows. Let's make it 30 GB. Press the "Install" button and after the partition is created, your Mac will reboot and the installation process will begin.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 62247

Likes : 166

DisLikes : 21

Published Date : 2013-10-14T12:05:52.000Z

Follow this easy step by step tutorial to learn about iWork suite and which is better when compared to Microsoft Office for MacBook. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will be basically discussing what would be a better option for Mac, iWork or Microsoft Office. Step1 -- Microsoft Office In our iWork vs. Office comparison, we start with Microsoft Office first. The office suite for mac is basically 219.99 dollars and if you opt for the home and student edition that would cost you around 139.99. Now that's quite expensive when you compare it with iWork. The three basic applications of iWork, that is, Pages, Keynotes and Numbers are available at 19.99 each. That makes it about roughly sixty dollars for the whole suite. Another feature with iWork is that as long as you can log on to your iTunes account, you can use the iWork suite on multiple accounts and on multiple Mac's, whereas with Microsoft Office, you would only get the license for one user and one Mac. If you want access for multiple Macs, you would have to subscribe to the Office 365 home premium edition which costs about ten dollars a month. Step2 -- Ms. Office vs. iWork However it doesn't come as a surprise why iWork is available at such a price when compared to Microsoft Office. When you compare the features, you can clearly see the difference amongst the two. For example the macro recorder feature in office is a very useful if you want to automate and customize things amongst the different applications within the office suite. iWork however lacks this feature and the only workaround for to customize your excel document, for example, is to write the Macro in Apple Script and use the Automator to run it. So if you are used to VBA editing and macro recording, Microsoft Office would be the tool for you. Step3 -- Application Space But when you compare the layout of the applications, many would agree that iWork applications are much cleaner than Office applications. The problem with Office applications, for example Microsoft Word, is that everything is cluttered up on the screen. You've got like three layers of customizable menu bars on top and many different sections containing more and more options. For the average user, it just looks way more complicated than it should be. With the Page application in iWork, you've got this single menu bar on top and if you open up the toolbar you can configure what's to be included in that menu bar. So everything is at your finger tips without filling up the screen with different options. This way, the user can actually focus more on the document itself. Step4 -- More Software with Office With the Microsoft Suite, you do end up getting a lot more applications for example Outlook for emails, OneNote, Microsoft Access and Publisher. But with iWork, you're sort of stuck with only 3 applications, Keynote, Pages and Numbers. We would like to conclude for iWork vs. MS Office with the fact that if you need a tool for document making and simple number crunching or basic presentation related work for your Mac, then iWork would be tool for you. It's cheaper and easy to use. For professional users who are looking for more advanced features, Microsoft Office would cater your needs better. Hence, iWork or MS Office, it all boils down to the user requirements and purchase capacity.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 22830

Likes : 51

DisLikes : 12

Published Date : 2014-01-14T04:04:12.000Z

In this tutorial, we will teach you how to connect to Wi-Fi on Mac. Follow this step by step guide to learn a couple of ways in which you can enable Wi-Fi and connect to a network. We will also teach you how you can adjust the Wi-Fi settings in Mac as well. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Enable the Wi-Fi Feature So let's start off by clicking on the wifi icon available at the top. With that done, a drop down menu will pop up. If you enable the wifi feature on Mac, it will automatically start searching for the available networks and display them in the menu here. If you want to connect to a network, all you have to do is click on the network and that's it. Step 2 -- Open System preferences There is an alternate way to access the wifi options as well. For that, open up the apple menu and click on the system preferences option. Step 3 -- Open network Over there, go to the internet and wireless section and click on the network icon there. Step 4 -- Enable Wi-Fi feature Once the network window opens, go to the wifi tab and from there, you can enable the wifi feature as well. To connect to a network, you have to select it from the drop down menu for the Network Name. Furthermore, if have enabled the "Ask to join new networks" option, the known networks will be joined automatically. Step 5 -- Configure Wi-Fi settings Furthermore, if you go to the advanced options, you can further configure the network settings for Wifi on Mac. For example, you can change the preferred networks by clicking on the plus or minus sign there. This way, the available networks would be connected according to the preference list. If you uncheck the "remember networks this computer has joined" option, the network won't be saved in the above list. Furthermore, if you tick on any of the three checkboxes here, that particular activity would require administrator authentication. For example, if you want Mac to ask for the administrator password every time you want to connect with another mac, then tick on the check box titled "create computer-to-computer networks". And that's basically how you can connect to Wi-Fi on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 17856

Likes : 75

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:47.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Create Recovery Disk on Mac If you want to perform a fresh and clean install on your Mac then you should create a Recovery Disk. You will need a USB flash drive (at least 8GB), preferably USB 3.0 so it works faster.   Step one, download macOS Sierra from the Mac Appstore. When it’s downloaded, close the installer window using the command CMD+Q: In Finder, go to Applications and right click on Install macOS Sierra app and choose Show Package Contents, then go to Contents - Resources: Now open a Terminal window and type the “sudo” followed by a space, then drag createinstallmedia file from the folder opened earlier into the terminal window: Add “--volume" followed by a space. Connect the USB drive and drag the USB drive icon from your desktop to the Terminal window: Type “--applicationpath” followed by a space. In Finder go to Applications and drag Install macOS Sierra application into the Terminal window: Press Return on your keyboard, type your password then press Y and then Return when asked to do so. The install process will begin by erasing the contents of your USB disk and copying the installer files to the USB disk. The entire process is quite lengthy and can take about 20-30 minutes. Once the process completes you will have working USB macOS Sierra install disk that can be used for a fresh install:
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 178030

Likes : 971

DisLikes : 36

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to change default player for media files on VLC Player in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set vlc as default Mac player. In order to set vlc as a default Mac player, open Safari browser. Type "vlc". Open the first result web page. In opened web page choose "Download VLC". Wait until the download process will be completed. Open the downloaded file. In appeared window drag "vlc" file to "applications" folder. After the installation is done, go to "application" folder. Double-click on "vlc" application. Close the application. Open "Finder". Go to "movies" folder. Right-click on video file. Click on "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the vlc player. Click "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now go to "music" folder. Right-click on audio file. Click "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the vlc player. Click on "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now a vlc player is set as a default player for your media files on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 3477

Likes : 5

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Learn how to add custom keyboard shortcuts in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set keyboard shortcuts on a Mac. In order to set keyboard shortcuts on a Mac, go to "system preferences". Choose "keyboard". In following window select "application Shortcuts". To add an application shortcut click on "+". In appeared window choose an application. Write a menu title. And enter a keyboard shortcut you prefer. Click "Add". Now pressing the keyboard combination will open the selected application.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 17756

Likes : 35

DisLikes : 19

Published Date : 2016-11-19T23:21:17.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Backup Files to iCloud on Mac (OS Sierra). Now you have the ability to automatically sync the Documents and Desktop folder on your Mac thru iCloud to other devices. To enable this feature go to System Preferences - iCloud - Options (next to iCloud drive). Enable “Desktop & Documents Folders”: There are other iCloud drive features: Click the Apple logo then go to About This Mac - Storage - Manage. System information should open with default tab being Recommendation, which offers ways to optimize your storage. You can enable storing your data in Documents and Desktop folders on iCloud if local storage gets full. After enabling this feature, Desktop and Documents folders get removed from your Favorites in Finder sidebar and appear under a new category called iCloud that also contains your iCloud drive. They also appear as folders on the iCloud drive app on your mobile devices.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 43150

Likes : 244

DisLikes : 16

Published Date : 2013-12-24T21:10:37.000Z

In this tutorial you will learn how to hide files and folders on Mac. When you have to share your Mac with someone else, chances are that you don't want him or her to have free access to all of your files. Since you cannot always create a new account for each guest user, here's how to hide files and folders that you don't want others to see. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Let's say, we want to hide the invoice PDF file. What to do? Step 1. In your Finder menu, click "Go", "Utilities" and choose "Terminal". Step 2. Terminal will open a new command window. In this window, type the following command that will hide your file: "chf lags hidden" and a single space. Step 3. Now drag the file that you want to hide to the Terminal window. The name of the file will be added to the command. Step 4. Click the "Return" key: that will activate the file adding command. Step 5. Just in the same way you can hide a folder: watch how we hide the folder with our personal photos. Here you go! Our Mac is ready for guest browsing. Step 6. When you're back to working on your Mac, you'll probably want to unhide your files and folders. To do that, open up the Terminal window again and, while being inside the window, press the "UP" arrow key. That will reveal the last command performed by Terminal. Step 7. Use the arrow key to reach the word "hidden" inside the command and change it to "nohidden".Press "Return" key to unhide the file or folder. Step 8. If you need to hide a lot of files and folders from time to time, we suggest you create a special "hidden" folder where you temporary transfer all of them. Result: You've just learned how to hide and keep secret files and folders on your Mac. This was a HowTech tutorial. Like us on Facebook, love us forever or leave us a comment here in the fields below. Thanks for watching!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 117676

Likes : 313

DisLikes : 37

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to move or copy application to an external hard drive in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to transfer applications from mac onto an external drive. Open external hard drive. First we need to create a folder to transfer the applications. Right click and choose "New Folder". Double click to open it. Next open a "New Finder Window" by right clicking the "Finder" icon in the "Dock". In the opened window, go to the Applications folder. Now simply drag and drop preferred applications onto the external hard drive to copy them. If you want move the application to the external hard drive, hold the "Command" key on your keyboard. To move the application you will have to provide the administrator password. Now you can open applications directly from your external hard drive.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 23043

Likes : 28

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2013-08-15T22:00:10.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to put mac on automatic sleeping mode by making some changes on the system preferences. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will show you how to put Mac on Sleep Mode. The option of sleep on mac can be put up by making adjustments inside System Preferences. To learn how to put the sleep mode on mac follow the tutorial given below. Step 1 -- Select the apple icon First of all click on the apple icon which is located on the top left corner of the screen and from the menu that opens up, click on the Sleep option. This was the manual way of putting Mac to sleep mode. Step 2 -- Put Mac automatically on sleep mode If you want to automatically put Mac on sleep mode, you can do so by making some changes in the System Preferences. Once the window opens up, click on the Energy Saver option under the Hardware Section. Step 3 -- Make changes according to your requirement Now you would be able to make changes according to your requirements. For example the slider over here is used to set the time when your system and the display will go to sleep mode automatically. Step 4 -- Adjust the options Furthermore, there are more power saving options below the sliders which you can try out. For example, you can put the hard disk to sleep mode whenever possible. If you want the system to resume whenever there is any network access, you can go for the second option. The third option over here will put the system to sleep on mac whenever you hit the power button and finally the fourth option will enable your system to automatically restart in case it freezes. Step 5 -- Save the changes Once you are done, simply click on the lock icon again to save the changes made. And that's it this way you can put the sleep mode on mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 11491

Likes : 17

DisLikes : 14

Published Date : 2016-06-19T22:43:49.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to hide the menu bar on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Sometimes you menu bar eats more from your screen then you can allow. El Capitan allows you to disable menu bar view and hide it really easily. Step 1. Access “System Preferences” (we usually do it via Launchpad app that we keep on the doc at the bottom of the screen) and go to “General”. Step 2. From the new window, tick the “Automatically hide and show the menu bar” option. Okay, you're done! Enjoy using more of your screen and, if you miss the menu bar, you can always go back to “System Preferences” option window and un-tick your menu hiding choice. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to hide the menu bar on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 16211

Likes : 35

DisLikes : 12

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to start the Apache engine in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to install apache on mac. "Apache" is already built-n the Mac OS, you just have to start it. Go to the the "Launchpad and choose "Other". Launch "Terminal" by clicking on its icon. In the appeared window enter the command "sudo apachectl start" and press "Enter" on the keyboard. Now you need to enter an administrator password and press "Enter" again. To check the version of the preinstalled "Apache" enter the command "httpd -v" and press "Enter". To check if the "Apache" is working, open the "Safari" browser and enter the "localhost" in the address bar and press "Return" on the keyboard. The apache has been successfully started.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 185843

Likes : 229

DisLikes : 38

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:49.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to set a password on Mac so as to protect you private content and to alter the login settings of accounts on your system. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To protect the privacy of your files and folders, you can set a password on mac. Through this tutorial you will learn about password protection for mac and how to protect the privacy of your content. The password will restrict the unauthorized person from using your computer. Step # 1-Click on System preferences To set a password, first of all, you will need to access the system preferences. You can do that by moving to the dock below or opening the "apple menu" and clicking on the "system preferences" option there. Step # 2 -- Click on Security and Privacy button Once it is opened, click on the "security and privacy" button which is located at the top of the window. Step # 3 -- Click on the unlock button To make the changes here, you first need to click on the "lock" icon below the window. With that done, a new window will appear where you will be required to type in the password. Since we haven't assigned any password here, we will simply click on the "unlock" option. Step # 4 -- Set the time period For password protection on mac tick on the checkbox titled "Require password". You can set the time period the operating system asks for the password, after which it goes to sleep or the screen saver begins. Step # 5 --Change the settings of login You can also make changes for all the accounts in this computer. For example disabling automatic login or requiring a password whenever someone wants to access system preferences. Step # 6 -- Set time for logging out You can even set the time after which the operating system will log out automatically when inactive and this will save your battery time. Step # 7 -- Customize the message For a customized message to appear when the screen is locked, tick mark the option "show a message when the screen is locked". Step # 8 -- Select the lock icon Now, click on the "lock" icon below to lock the changes that you made. This tutorial shows an easy way to set password on mac and protect your private content.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 3203

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:00.000Z

Learn how create a recovery disk on Mac with Recovery Disk Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to create a recovery disk on Mac. Open Safari and go to "apple.com'. Choose "Support" and type "Recovery dick assistant" into the search field. Select "OS X Recovery Disk Assistant" and press "Download". When the download process is complete, open the file and install it on your Mac. When the application is installed, just follow the instructions. Insert a USB Flash Drive and select it in the application menu. After the recovery disk is created, you can use it. To do that, restart your computer and hold down the "Option" key on your keyboard.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 19850

Likes : 67

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-12-23T12:08:28.000Z

In this tutorial, we will guide you on how to use SSH on mac. Secure Shell basically helps you to access and move data from one device to another using a network protocol. It basically provides you with a secure channel. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Use the ssh command Secure shell in Mac OSX in particular is installed by default. All you have to do is go to the utilities window and open up the terminal application in order to use it. Once you are there, type in the following command: ssh YOUR USERNAME@YOUR SERVER ADDRESS Once you hit enter, you will be prompted for the password. Upon typing in the correct password, you will be able to access the other system, which means a successful connection has been established. Step 2 -- Use the ls command Since we are connected to a Linux based environment, let's use the "LS" command to list the contents of the SSH server. Step 3 -- Create a new directory If you want to create a new directory in the SSH server, simply type the "MKDIR" command followed by the name of the directory you want to create. List the contents of the SSH server on Mac and you will notice the newly created directory is there. Step 4 -- Change directory If you want to access a directory, you can use the "CD" command followed by the name of the directory. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will access the newly created directory with the help of the cd command. Step 5 -- Go back to the root Now go back to the main directory by simply typing the "CD" command followed by a back slash. Step 6 -- Use the RMDIR command To delete a particular directory on the server, simply use the "RMDIR" command followed by the name of the directory. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will delete the folder that we just created. Now when we list the contents on the server, you will see that the folder has been removed from the SSH server on Mac. 7 -- Logout Finally, you can close the session by typing logout and hitting enter. Over there, you will notice that the connection has been closed successfully. In this manner, you can use SSH on Mac to navigate through the SSH server.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 30532

Likes : 95

DisLikes : 17

Published Date : 2014-09-08T07:16:07.000Z

If you have just updated your password in your OS X, it might happen that you can’t access your system because you don’t remember your new password. You can reset your user password in OS X Recovery mode. After doing this, make sure you backup all your passwords somewhere else that is not in your Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step # 1 - Go in to the OS X recovery mode First of all, you’ll need to boot into OS X Recovery mode. To do this, you’ll need to restart your Mac. While restarting, hold down “CMD” + “R” until the Apple logo appears. This way you will enter the recovery mode. Step # 2 - Open a Terminal Next, go to the main menu. Choose “Utilities” and then click on “Terminal”. In “Terminal”, type “resetpassword” and press Enter. Step # 3 - Select your user account The “Reset Password” window will open. Next, select your OS X drive. From the drop down box under "Select the user account:"; choose the user account that you want to reset the password for. Step # 4 - Type your new password Type in your new password and re-enter it. You can also choose to write down a hint in the "Enter a new password hint for this user", just in case. Once you’re done, click on “Save”. You will be prompted with a message saying that your user account password was reset, but that your keychain was not reset. Just click “OK” and close all windows. Step # 5 - Restart your Mac Now click the Apple icon at the very top left and choose “Restart”. You can now enter your account with your new password. Result: Congratulations! You’ve just learned How to Reset Mac OS X User Password In Recovery Mode.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 9302

Likes : 15

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-17T05:00:03.000Z

Learn how to delete programs on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To delete a program on your mac go to the utilities folder. Open activity monitor. From the drop down change my processes to all processes. Make sure the program you wish to delete is not running. If it is close it before proceeding. Open Finder, select View - "as List". Enter the program in the search bar Click the + button below the search term, then select "Name" "Contains" and enter the app name. Click the + button below the search term to add criteria then click the search criteria drop-down and select "Other. Scroll down and select "System files" Click the "aren't included" and change to "are included" Sort by name, kind, date, etc. to identify components of the app, such as folders, .plist files, cache files. etc. Select the file or files and right click. Select move to trash. Delete all files and folders related to the app. Don't empty your Trash until you've determined that everything is working OK, in case you need to restore something you deleted by accident. A reboot might be necessary to completely remove some programs. You've now fully deleted a program off of your mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 17411

Likes : 58

DisLikes : 3

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:25.000Z

Learn how to shutdown mac with terminal. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to shutdown mac using terminal. Open "terminal" application. In the opened terminal window, type "sudo shutdown --h 12:30" to shutdown system at 12:30. If you want to shutdown the system in a set period of time, type "sudo shutdown --h +10". This command will shutdown the system in 10 minutes. Also, if you want to cancel a shutdown, type "sudo killall shutdown".
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 217426

Likes : 285

DisLikes : 55

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to change apple id in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change apple id. In order to change your apple id, go to the "system preferences". Click on "Users & Groups". Click the "Change..." button right next to the "Apple ID". In the appeared window press the "minus" sign to remove current apple id. Then click on "+" sign and type in your new "apple id" and "password". Click "Ok" and then click "Done". Now your Apple ID has been successfully changed.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 69760

Likes : 295

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Learn how to change default player for media files on QuickTime player in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set quicktime as default player on Mac. In order to set quicktime as default player on Mac, open "Finder". Open folder with video files. Right-click on video file. Click on "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the quicktime player. Click "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now you can see that another video file has also been set to play with a quicktime player by default. Now go to "music" folder. Right-click on audio file. Click "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the quicktime player. Click on "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now a quicktime player is set as a default player for your media files on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 1534

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:07:11.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to turn into a smart folder a folder on your Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Turning your simple folder on your Mac into a smart folder is not possible, but you can create another smart folder and place a link to it into your regular folder. Step 1. To create a smart folder, choose “File” from your Finder menu. Step 2. Choose “New Smart Folder”. We will give it a name - “Last Documents” and save it on a Desktop. Here you go! Result: Now we have a folder that functions as “two in one” - it has our documents and stores a wonderful shortcut to document search, which is our smart folder. You've just learned how to create a folder that functions as both simple folder and a smart folder.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 52925

Likes : 109

DisLikes : 47

Published Date : 2016-06-13T22:26:01.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech Introduction: In this tutorial you will learn how to burn files to a CD or a DVD using a Mac running on OS X El Capitan. Prerequisites: CD or DVD, a Mac Step 1. Burning CDs and DVDs on El Capitan is fast and convenient, just have your blank CD or DVD ready and insert it in your Mac's DVD drive. If your Mac has a built-in optical drive or if you connect an external DVD-drive – for example, an Apple USB-superdrive, you can burn files to CDs and DVDs to share your files with friends, move files between computers or create back-up files. Disks that you burn on your Mac can also be used on Windows and other types of computers. Step 2. The blank CD or DVD menu will appear in the center of your desktop. Choose the needed action from the pop-up menu (we'll choose “Open Finder”). You can also tick the box to make opening of any other blank CD or DVD in Finder default. Step 3. Now click on the untitled CD or DVD icon that has appeared on your Desktop - the CD-burning menu in Finder has opened. Great! Alt Text: ”clicking on a CD icon” Step 4. Drag the files that you want to burn on your CD or DVD to the Finder window. In our case, those will be mp3 song files. The files will be copied to the menu and will appear in a form of aliases, which is totally okay. Step 5: If there is some file that does not fit into this CD, right-click on its name in the menu and choose “Move to Trash”. Good! Step 6: When you're ready, press “Burn”. The burning menu window will appear. Give your disk a custom name and choose the burning speed. We'll pick the maximum speed. Step 7: Optionally, you can also save your burned folder to any location on your Mac. Step 8: Alright. Now click “Burn”. The burning dialog window will show you which tracks it is currently burning. It also will show you your CD or DVD when it's done. Result: Congratulations! You've just learned how to burn a CD or DVD on a Mac running on “El Capitan”!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 4348

Likes : 4

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:18:18.000Z

Learn how to adjust time in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change time display on Mac. In order to make changes in time display on Mac , you have to go to the "System Preferences", choose "Date&Time". In the opened menu you can change time options on "Digital" or "Analog", also you can choose to "use a 24-hour clock" or "show AM/PM". In "Date&Time" menu you can change the date and time by removing a tick from "Set date and time automatically". Also you can revert the wrong time and return to automatic synchronization of time.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5110

Likes : 1

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to perform regular system backups in Mac OS X using Time Machine. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ It's extremely important to regularly make backup copies of all data that you work with. It's even better if those backup copies can be automatically created by the operating system. OS X (os ten) has a built-in backup program to do just that. It's called Time Machine, and we'll talk about it in this video lesson. To set up Time Machine, go to the "System preferences" and choose "Time Machine". Choose a back up disk by pressing the "Select disk" button. It's best to store backups on an external hard drive if you have one. To exclude a folder or disc from the backup, click Options and add the folder or disc to the list of exclusions by clicking +. You can also enable notifications about old backups deletion. Click Save and start backing up. By default, Time Machine saves copies of the operating system on an hourly, daily, and weekly basis. So you can always revert back to a previous state of your operating system if you ever have any problems.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 50524

Likes : 50

DisLikes : 54

Published Date : 2016-06-16T09:13:34.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to detect displays on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” . Normally our Macs are smart and detect automatically any external display connected to it. It would just start working in the extended desktop and mirrored desktop regime. But sometimes display detection does not happen automatically. In this case, one needs to do the following: Step 1. Go to Apple menu in the top left corner of your Mac' screen, click on “System Preferences” and choose “Displays” from all the list of options. Step 2. The new “Display Preferences” window will appear. Now press down and hold the “Option” key. The normally hidden in El Capitan “Detect Displays” button will appear. Step 3. Click that button while still holding down your “Option” key. If you had an external display connected to your Mac in the right way, dual display regime should activate itself. If it does not happen, check your cable connecting the external display or any other cables that you are using for that operation. If you still can not detect display, there is a bigger issue with either the external display or your Mac. Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to detect displays on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 372059

Likes : 220

DisLikes : 306

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:24.000Z

Learn how to use Instagram in Mac OS X with a standalone application. In this video tutorial we will show you how to use Instagram on Mac. If you want to browse through your Instagram account on Mac in a separate application, you can download one by opening App Store. In the search window in the upper right corner type "Visual Grub" and press Return key. Select the Visual Grub application from the search result. To download the application click on the "Free" button and choose "Install App". Enter your Apple ID and password. After the download is finished, go to the "Launchpad" and open the application. Enter your Instagram login and password and you are ready to browse through your photos and the photos of your friends.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2463

Likes : 5

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-08-04T22:00:10.000Z

In this tutorial, you will learn How To Set Up Wifi. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Setting up and connecting to wifi on your mac can be achieved in a few simple steps. On the top right corner of your desktop, click the WiFi icon, looks similar to an upside-down triange. Ensure your Airport is turned ON and select to the network you wish to join. If the network is password protected you will see a lock symbol next to its name. In this case you will need the password in order to connect. You can now begin surfing the web as you are now connected to a WiFi network.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 39446

Likes : 61

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2013-08-14T22:00:10.000Z

GIT can be easily installed in MAC by first downloading it, installing it and then running it from the Terminal application. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will guide you how to install Git on mac. To install GIT on Mac, you would have to first install its application and then run it from the Terminal application. To learn how to install GIT, follow the tutorial given below. Step 1 -- Download git To download the application, open up the browser and log on to git-scm.com. Over here, you can download the mac version of Git. Step 2 -- Extract the file Once the application has been downloaded, move to the top right corner of the browser and click on the file. This will extract the dmg package on your hard drive. Step 3 -- Select the .pkg file With that done move to the directory where the package has been extracted and click on the .pkg file. Step 4 -- Move on with the installation With that done, the Git Installer welcome screen will appear right in front of you. Over here, click on the continue button to move on with the installation of git on mac. Step 5 -- Install the whole package Over here, you can either customize the installation according to your requirements or install the full package. For this tutorial, we will simply install the whole package. Step 6 -- Enter password A pop-up window will open up after that, where you will be required to enter the password before continuing with the installation. Step 7 -- Close installer and open Terminal application With that done, a confirmation notification will be shown, informing you that the Installation was successful. Simply click on Close to exit the installer and let's open up the terminal application. Step 8 -- Open the graphical interface Over here, let's type git gui and this will open up the graphical interface of the application. Over here, you can create, clone or open an existing repository. And that's it, this way you can learn how to install git on mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 26005

Likes : 51

DisLikes : 8

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:04:54.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to switch between the different user accounts on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Are you being the only one in your family who loves Macs and eventually has everyone else switching to your Mac and using your Mac because it's so nice and handy? Yeah! We know that feeling. We don't think you can block all those folks from using your Mac, but you can certainly make it easier for them to switch. Here's what you have to do to turn on fast user switching. Step 1. Go to Apple menu and “System Preferences”. From there, click “Users and Groups” and then “Login Options”. Step 2. Click the lock and enter your password. Step 3. Tick “Show fast user switching menu as” and then adjust the way your users are handled, as per your convenience. Done – the option is enabled. Step 4. Now here's what your users have to do to quickly switch between themselves. From the menu bar, they should pick fast user switching icon. Then select their username, enter their password and click the arrow to log in. Step 5: Finally, after they are finished, they should not forget about others and open the fast user switching menu and pick login window, so it will be displayed. That's it! Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to switch between the different user accounts on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 29055

Likes : 96

DisLikes : 8

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:08.000Z

Learn how to open DOS programs in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use dosbox on mac. In order to use dosbox on mac, open the "Safari" browser. Go to "dosbox.com". Navigate to the "Downloads" section. Choose "Mac OS X" version of the program. When the download is complete, open the file. Double click on "dosbox" icon to start the application. Now go to the "user" folder. Create a new folder, for example "Dosbox". Go back to the Dosbox window, type "mount c ~/DosBox" and press "Enter". Then type "c:\". Now you can launch any dos based program, which is placed in a "DosBox" folder.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2455

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2016-06-13T22:37:36.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech Introduction: In this tutorial you will learn how to change the display using “System Preferences” on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Mission Control app and other apps from “System Preferences” allow you to do it with ease. Step 1. To access the Mission Control app, go to Launchpad from the doc at the bottom of your screen and click the Mission Control icon. Mission Control will show you the spacebar at the top of the screen. You can see your Desktop and all of your added desktops there. The lower area of the screen will show all of the windows that you currently have active either in a spilt screen view or normal view. Step 2. By clicking the “plus” button from the spacebar, you can add as many desktops as you want. It's also easy to delete them: simply point your mouse at the desktop window and click the little cross on the upper left of the icon. Step 3. Now when we have two desktops created, we can drag some of the windows from the lower part of the screen to the desktop. Here you go! The first desktop is not as cluttered as it used to be. We can also transport ourselves to the second desktop simply by clicking on its icon in the spacebar. Great! Step 4. Other options for customizing your display are available via Apple button, “System Preferences”. When you click on Display, it opens the new menu where you can adjust the resolution of your display, its' brightness and color. Step 5: The Dock app from System Preferences allows you to customize also the appearance of your dock, the size of icons, the doc's position of screen and so on. Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to change the display using “System Preferences”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 41734

Likes : 52

DisLikes : 9

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to zoom in and out using Accessibility functions of Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to zoom out on a Mac. In order to zoom in and zoom out on Mac, you have to go "System preferences". Choose "Accessibility". In appeared window, select "Zoom". Check "Use keyboard shortcuts to zoom" and "Use scroll gesture with modifier keys to zoom". Now you can zoom in by pressing "option, command, +". And you can Zoom out with the help of "option, command, -" keyboard keys.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 217739

Likes : 93

DisLikes : 39

Published Date : 2012-12-17T05:00:12.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to delete downloads on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To delete downloads you've downloaded open the file window. Navigate to your downloads folder. Select the file you wish to delete. Select it. Right click and select move to trash. The file will now be moved to your trash can. To empty your trash go to the trash can in the dock and right click on it. Select empty trash. Confirm you want to empty your trash on the pop up. Your trash will now be emptied and all files in it will be deleted.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6965

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:49.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to use the print screen function and then work with it to take the screenshot of the active window on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In mac OS X, "print screen" is known as screen captures or screenshots. On the keyboard of Mac there is no button as "print screen", however you can capture the screen by using shortcuts. So instead of the "print screen" button there is a print screen command in Mac Os x. In this tutorial we will show you how to print screen in mac. Step # 1-Hit command shift 4 First of all, press "Command Shift 4". Notice how the cursor changes once you hit the keyboard shortcut. Now you can drag your mouse and make a selection on the screen. Step # 2 -- Open the file Once you release your cursor, the file is automatically saved in your desktop. Open the file and notice that it took a screenshot of everything that came within that selection, including the desktop. Step # 3 -- Take screenshot of the active window What if you want to take a screenshot of only a particular window or the desktop? For that we have Active window. The mac print screen command is "Command Shift 4 key". Press "spacebar" on your keyboard and you will notice that the cursor will change once more. When you move the cursor over the window or the desktop the color changes. This means that a screenshot will be taken of the window which is active before the screenshot is taken. For example let's take a screenshot of the window. Step # 4 -- Look at the file Open up the file and you will notice that the background wasn't captured in this screenshot. Similarly you can take a screenshot of the desktop as well and this is how you print a screen in mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 129127

Likes : 250

DisLikes : 31

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how create a new Apple ID. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set up your Apple ID account. Open "Safari" and go to "applied.apple.com". Click "Create an Apple ID". On the next page enter your e-mail address. It will be used as your Apple ID. Enter a password for you new account twice. Now select a security question and an answer. Specify your birth date. Now enter your personal information, such as: First name Last name Country Address City State And a Zip code. Now enter a security code from the picture and press "Create Apple ID". In the next step you need to go to your e-mail and confirm your account by clicking on a link in the letter from Apple. Enter the e-mail address and password you specified during the registration and click "Verify Address". You new Apple ID account has been successfully created.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 3698

Likes : 5

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:56.000Z

Learn how to update flash player on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To update flash player on your mac open a web browser and type in adobe flash player in the search box. Go to Adobe.com/support/flashplayer/downloads.html On top right side there is a link that says get latest version. Click that link to download the latest version of flash player. Click the download now button and save the player to your computer. With the file downloaded and unpackaged double click on the file. Check the box and click install. Enter your admin password. Click ok. Flash player will now install on your system and you will updated flash player on your mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 111522

Likes : 109

DisLikes : 50

Published Date : 2013-09-24T13:50:29.000Z

Follow this step by step guide to learn how to install Microsoft Word on Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will teach you how to install word on mac. We will teach you how to perform a custom installation such that only Ms Word is installed on our machine. Step 1 -- Download Ms Office Follow this step by step guide to learn how to install word on mac. In order to buy and download Ms Word for Mac, open up the browser and go to microsoft.com/mac/buy. As a result, the office for Mac page will open. From there, select the bundle that you want to install on your Mac before you click on the buy button. This will redirect you to the shopping cart page from where you can purchase and download Ms Office. Step 2 -- Run the setup file Once the installation file has been downloaded, run the setup file. As a result, the office installer window will appear. Click on the Continue button in the welcome screen to proceed further. Step 3 -- Agree to the license Next, you would be required to agree to the license agreement before you can move on with the process. Step 4 -- Custom Installation Next, the "Installation type" window will be displayed. Since MS office components are not made available individually, the only way to install word is to customize the installation here. So let's expand the Microsoft Office option and uncheck all of the applications except for Microsoft Word. This way, only MS word would be installed on Mac. Now go to the bottom and click on the "Install" button to begin with the installation. Step 5 -- Enter password With that done, the authentication window will open and you will be prompted to enter the password before you can continue with the installation process. Step 6 -- Open Ms Word Once the installation has been completed, go to the dock and you would notice the Ms Word icon is available there. This indicates that Ms Word for Mac has been successfully installed. Simply click on the icon to open up the application and that's it.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 106320

Likes : 59

DisLikes : 30

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:25.000Z

Learn how to use iCal in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use calendar on Mac. A shortcut for launching iCal is located in your Dock by default. It looks like a tear-off calendar and always displays the current date and month. You can view your calendar by day, week, month or year. You can sync your Google Calendar with iCal. Go to iCal preferences and select "Accounts" tab. Add your Google Calendar by entering your e-mail and password. Now you Google Calendar is synced with iCal. On the left are two buttons -- "Calendars" and a plus symbol. The Calendars button lets you select the calendars you want to view, while the Plus button helps you quickly create an event. Let's add a new event to a calendar and set its reminder parameters. To do this, double-click any area in the hour/day grid. After the "New event" window appears, double-click it and then click "Edit" in the open window. Now choose a name for the event, then specify the duration or check "All day". Now choose whether you want to be seen as "Busy" or "Free" during the event, then select a calendar for the event. Since we're creating an event called "Business meeting", we'll choose the "Work" calendar. Now it's time to create a reminder. Select the reminder type from the "Alert" popup menu. Choose the time for the reminder. When you're finished making changes, click the "Done" button.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5676

Likes : 9

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2013-08-18T22:00:10.000Z

Follow the tutorial to learn how to set up windows mail for Mac by going to the Preferences panel and entering the email details. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will guide you on how to set up windows mail for mac. This process is fairly simple and can be carried out by entering different email addresses that are required. To learn about this, follow the steps given below. Step 1 -- Select the mail icon First of all, click on the mail icon which is placed on doc panel. Step 2 -- Select the Preferences option With that done the Mail Application will open up. Over here, move to the Mail tab and then click on the Preferences option. Step 3 -- Enter details As a result, the Accounts window will open up. Over here, click on plus sign and the Add Account wizard would open up. Enter the Full name, Your Hotmail Email Address, Password and then click on Continue. Step 4 -- Enter complete email address In the next window, set the Account type as POP and in the incoming Mail server, type pop3.live.com for the address. In the username field, provide the complete email address along with the domain, which in this case will be Hotmail.com. Step 5 -- Provide address for outgoing mail server In the next window, you can write the description and provide the address of the outgoing mail server. In this case, it will be smtp dot live dot com. Do remember to tick on the two checkboxes titled "Use only this server" and "Use Authentication" before you continue with the process. Step 6 -- View accounts summary With that done, the Account Summary window will open up. You can view the details and go back if you wish to change anything over here. Once done, click on the Create button and you will be taken back to the accounts window. Step 7 -- Go back to inbox Now let's head back to the inbox and notice how it automatically fetches the mails from the Hotmail account. This means that we have successfully set up windows mail for Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 8092

Likes : 5

DisLikes : 10

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:24.000Z

Using launchpad on a mac device can be tricky. Learn how to do it and manage applications on your doc easily from this tutorial. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Apple developed an application known as the launch pad. Each application is labeled by an icon in the Launchpad .Through mac launchpad you can start a program by clicking on the icon. In this tutorial we will show you how to use Launchpad on mac. Step # 1 -- Click on the launchpad First of all, click on the Launchpad icon located on the dock. Once done, all the applications installed on your computer are displayed on the screen, just like in the Ipad. Step # 2 -- Navigate through the launchpad You can navigate through your mouse and swipe from the first page to the second page to view all the installed applications. Step # 3 -- Open an application Now on the mac launchpad let's open up an application which is not located on the dock, for example here we will open the "preview" application. Step # 4 -- View the icon Once the application opens up, the icon appears on the dock. Now when you close the application, its icon also disappears from the dock. Step # 5 --Select Keep in Dock option It is possible that you want the icon of a certain application always present on the dock. For that, open up the application, right click on the "application" icon present on the dock, move over to "options" and select the "keep in dock" option. Now even if you close the application, the icon will remain on the dock. Step # 6 -- Exit the Launchpad If you want to exit Launchpad without choosing an app, click a part of the screen where there aren't apps. This is how you use Launchpad on mac.

YouAPI-1


Facebook Page Like Box ::