Mac Os X Tutorials And App Reviews From Howtech

Mac Os X Tutorials And App Reviews From Howtech....!

About 20 results out of 2257 (0.23 seconds)
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 8916

Likes : 23

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:50.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Install Fonts on Mac. Once you download a preferred font, unzip it then open the folder. Find the .ttf file and double click it. The font will open in a preview window. Press Install Font to install it: To uninstall a font, find it in the Fontbook application. Right click on it and select Remove Font Family: You can also install fonts by selecting multiple font files and dragging them into the Fontbook application.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5201

Likes : 12

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:11:59.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Juggling between two or three tasks while working on your Mac can be a bit of a drag, unless you're using a helpful new feature available in El Capitan – Split View. Let's say we're transcribing a YouTube video and need to simultaneously write and look at the video and a little dictionary. Instead of jumping from one window to another, here's a more handy way. Step 1. In the upper left corner of any of your open windows, you have a little green button. Click on it and press it until your window will turn itself into a half-window. Good! Now you can see all your other active apps on the right side of your window, without jumping from one window to another. Step 2. To return your view to normality, click and press the green button again on one of your screens or apps. Now you are in full screen mode again. Step 3. There is also another way to launch Split View mode. Simply activate the Mission Control app. You can see us doing it via Launchpad: it will show you all your current active apps on one screen. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 4894

Likes : 17

DisLikes : 3

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:48.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to View Hidden Files on Mac. Here is how to use Mac’s Terminal to view hidden files. To open Terminal, go to Applications - Utilities and double click on Terminal app icon. Type the following commands in terminal and press enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES killall Finder After all the finder windows disappear and reappear you will be able to view hidden files: To unhide the folders type the following commands in Terminal and press Enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO killall Finder
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 114658

Likes : 283

DisLikes : 8

Published Date : 2013-09-25T13:29:45.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Follow this step by step guide to learn what mac x11 is. Learn how to download, install and make xquartz the default x11 server. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will give you an overview on what Mac X11 is. Mac X11 is basically an implementation of the X window system, more commonly referred to as the X graphical user interface. It is primarily used on UNIX based systems. X11 is basically the eleventh version of the X window system. Mac OS X is completely made of the UNIX core structure and therefore Mac X11 allows you to run the applications developed on a UNIX environment on a Mac. Step 1 -- Install X11 First of all, go to the Utilities folder and click on the X11 icon. As a result, a dialog box will open up asking you to install X11. Simply click on the Continue button to proceed with the process. Step 2 -- Download xquartz If you are running MAC OSX Mountain Lion, X11 is installed by default. But for all the client libraries and server, you need to download the Xquartz package from the following link: xquartz.macosforge.org Step 3 -- Open the setup file Once the package has been downloaded, simply open the wizard and go through the installation process to install Xquartz on your system. Step 4 -- Log out Once you are done, you would be required to log out and log back in order to make Xquartz the default mac X11 server. Step 5 -- Use X enabled terminal When you log in to your profile and go to the utilities folder, you will notice that the x11 icon has now changed. Simply click on the Xquartz icon to open the application. Now there are a ton of things you can do with a fully functional X enabled terminal. For example, you can use UNIX based commands to navigate through and open applications. For the purpose of this tutorial, we want to open the calculator application. In order to do that, type in the following: /usr/X11/bin/xcalc and then hit enter. As a result, a fully functional scientific calculator will open. In this manner, you can work with the mac x11 server.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 195340

Likes : 250

DisLikes : 49

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to change apple id in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change apple id. In order to change your apple id, go to the "system preferences". Click on "Users & Groups". Click the "Change..." button right next to the "Apple ID". In the appeared window press the "minus" sign to remove current apple id. Then click on "+" sign and type in your new "apple id" and "password". Click "Ok" and then click "Done". Now your Apple ID has been successfully changed.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 58133

Likes : 150

DisLikes : 19

Published Date : 2013-10-14T12:05:52.000Z

Follow this easy step by step tutorial to learn about iWork suite and which is better when compared to Microsoft Office for MacBook. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will be basically discussing what would be a better option for Mac, iWork or Microsoft Office. Step1 -- Microsoft Office In our iWork vs. Office comparison, we start with Microsoft Office first. The office suite for mac is basically 219.99 dollars and if you opt for the home and student edition that would cost you around 139.99. Now that's quite expensive when you compare it with iWork. The three basic applications of iWork, that is, Pages, Keynotes and Numbers are available at 19.99 each. That makes it about roughly sixty dollars for the whole suite. Another feature with iWork is that as long as you can log on to your iTunes account, you can use the iWork suite on multiple accounts and on multiple Mac's, whereas with Microsoft Office, you would only get the license for one user and one Mac. If you want access for multiple Macs, you would have to subscribe to the Office 365 home premium edition which costs about ten dollars a month. Step2 -- Ms. Office vs. iWork However it doesn't come as a surprise why iWork is available at such a price when compared to Microsoft Office. When you compare the features, you can clearly see the difference amongst the two. For example the macro recorder feature in office is a very useful if you want to automate and customize things amongst the different applications within the office suite. iWork however lacks this feature and the only workaround for to customize your excel document, for example, is to write the Macro in Apple Script and use the Automator to run it. So if you are used to VBA editing and macro recording, Microsoft Office would be the tool for you. Step3 -- Application Space But when you compare the layout of the applications, many would agree that iWork applications are much cleaner than Office applications. The problem with Office applications, for example Microsoft Word, is that everything is cluttered up on the screen. You've got like three layers of customizable menu bars on top and many different sections containing more and more options. For the average user, it just looks way more complicated than it should be. With the Page application in iWork, you've got this single menu bar on top and if you open up the toolbar you can configure what's to be included in that menu bar. So everything is at your finger tips without filling up the screen with different options. This way, the user can actually focus more on the document itself. Step4 -- More Software with Office With the Microsoft Suite, you do end up getting a lot more applications for example Outlook for emails, OneNote, Microsoft Access and Publisher. But with iWork, you're sort of stuck with only 3 applications, Keynote, Pages and Numbers. We would like to conclude for iWork vs. MS Office with the fact that if you need a tool for document making and simple number crunching or basic presentation related work for your Mac, then iWork would be tool for you. It's cheaper and easy to use. For professional users who are looking for more advanced features, Microsoft Office would cater your needs better. Hence, iWork or MS Office, it all boils down to the user requirements and purchase capacity.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 4990

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:52.000Z

Learn how to download and reinstall Mac OS Mountain Lion. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to reinstall Mac OS. In order to reinstall Mac OS first you have to download the latest version of the operating system. Launch the "App Store" from the Dock. In the appeared window select the latest Mac OS operating system from the list on the right. In the following window you can by the OS or redownload it if you have purchased it before. After the download is complete, go to the "Launchpad". Select the Mac OS installation app and launch it with a left-click. First you need to accept the license agreement. Click "Agree" and "Agree" again in the following window. Now select the drive you wish to install the system on. Click "Install" to start of the installation. In the following window enter the administrator password to begin the installation and press "OK". After the installer finishes all the necessary preparations to start the installation process your computer will restart automatically after 30 seconds, but you can press the "Restart" button to manually restart the computer. You will see the warning that you need to close all application before restart. Click "Close Other Applications" and the system will reboot. After the computer has been restarted all the installation process proceeds automatically. The time of the installation depends on your system configuration, but usually takes not more than 30 minutes. After the installation is finished your computer will restart again and will boot in to a freshly installed system, but will keep all your files and application from your previous operating system. Your Mac OS has been successfully reinstalled.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 7574

Likes : 11

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2016-06-19T22:43:49.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to hide the menu bar on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Sometimes you menu bar eats more from your screen then you can allow. El Capitan allows you to disable menu bar view and hide it really easily. Step 1. Access “System Preferences” (we usually do it via Launchpad app that we keep on the doc at the bottom of the screen) and go to “General”. Step 2. From the new window, tick the “Automatically hide and show the menu bar” option. Okay, you're done! Enjoy using more of your screen and, if you miss the menu bar, you can always go back to “System Preferences” option window and un-tick your menu hiding choice. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to hide the menu bar on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 127012

Likes : 246

DisLikes : 30

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how create a new Apple ID. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set up your Apple ID account. Open "Safari" and go to "applied.apple.com". Click "Create an Apple ID". On the next page enter your e-mail address. It will be used as your Apple ID. Enter a password for you new account twice. Now select a security question and an answer. Specify your birth date. Now enter your personal information, such as: First name Last name Country Address City State And a Zip code. Now enter a security code from the picture and press "Create Apple ID". In the next step you need to go to your e-mail and confirm your account by clicking on a link in the letter from Apple. Enter the e-mail address and password you specified during the registration and click "Verify Address". You new Apple ID account has been successfully created.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 23460

Likes : 39

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:44.000Z

Learn how add and remove applications from the startup list in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change startup programs on Mac. In order to change startup programs on Mac, you have to go to "System preferences". In following window choose "Users&Groups". In next window click on "Login Items". To add an application, press "+"(plus). From the applications folder select the programs you want to be started at the startup and click "Add". If you want to remove an application from the startup list, select the application and press "-"(minus).
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 146199

Likes : 307

DisLikes : 27

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:11.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to use Boot Camp Assistant in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use Boot Camp on Mac. Lets start with inserting Windows installation disk and an empty USB Flash drive. Now proceed to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start the Boot Camp Assistant. When the Boot Camp Assistant is launched, press Continue. In the next window, check the "Download the Latest Windows Support Software from Apple" and "Install Windows 7" options. In the next menu choose "Save a copy to an External Drive". For the Windows to recognize this drive, it needs to be formatted into the FAT file system. To do that, go to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start Disk Utility. Select your External USB Flash Drive from the list on the left and go to the "Erase" tab. Select the "MS-DOS (FAT)" file system and name your drive, for example "SUPPORT". Press the "Erase" button below and confirm this action. After the formatting is complete, we can close Disk Utility and go back to the Boot Camp Assistant. Press Continue. Choose where to download the Windows support files, in our case it will be USB external drive named SUPPORT. Press SAVE. The download process will take about 20 minutes. When the download is complete the partitioning menu will appear. Choose the size of the partition. There are two options: you can cut your hard drive in half by pressing "Divide Equally" button or you can move the dot to specify how much disk space you would like to allocate for Windows. Let's make it 30 GB. Press the "Install" button and after the partition is created, your Mac will reboot and the installation process will begin.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6320

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Learn how to change homepage for the Safari browser in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set up a homepage on a Mac. In order to set a homepage on a Mac, you have to go to the Safari browser. Choose "Safari" tab and click on "Preferences". In "Homepage" line set the web page you prefer. Close the Safari browser. Open it again and you will see the new homepage loaded.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 24004

Likes : 138

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to set change default programs in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set the default programs on Mac. In order to set the default programs on Mac, open "Finder". For example, go to the "Movies" folder. Right-click on the video file and choose "Get info". Select "open with" and choose the application you want the file to be opened with. Now click on "Change all". In the appeared window click on "continue" to confirm the selected application as a default player for the selected file type. Now, if you click "Get info" on another video file, you can see that it will be opened with the previously selected default program.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 18317

Likes : 59

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-12-23T12:08:28.000Z

In this tutorial, we will guide you on how to use SSH on mac. Secure Shell basically helps you to access and move data from one device to another using a network protocol. It basically provides you with a secure channel. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Use the ssh command Secure shell in Mac OSX in particular is installed by default. All you have to do is go to the utilities window and open up the terminal application in order to use it. Once you are there, type in the following command: ssh YOUR USERNAME@YOUR SERVER ADDRESS Once you hit enter, you will be prompted for the password. Upon typing in the correct password, you will be able to access the other system, which means a successful connection has been established. Step 2 -- Use the ls command Since we are connected to a Linux based environment, let's use the "LS" command to list the contents of the SSH server. Step 3 -- Create a new directory If you want to create a new directory in the SSH server, simply type the "MKDIR" command followed by the name of the directory you want to create. List the contents of the SSH server on Mac and you will notice the newly created directory is there. Step 4 -- Change directory If you want to access a directory, you can use the "CD" command followed by the name of the directory. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will access the newly created directory with the help of the cd command. Step 5 -- Go back to the root Now go back to the main directory by simply typing the "CD" command followed by a back slash. Step 6 -- Use the RMDIR command To delete a particular directory on the server, simply use the "RMDIR" command followed by the name of the directory. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will delete the folder that we just created. Now when we list the contents on the server, you will see that the folder has been removed from the SSH server on Mac. 7 -- Logout Finally, you can close the session by typing logout and hitting enter. Over there, you will notice that the connection has been closed successfully. In this manner, you can use SSH on Mac to navigate through the SSH server.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 97418

Likes : 55

DisLikes : 26

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:25.000Z

Learn how to use iCal in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use calendar on Mac. A shortcut for launching iCal is located in your Dock by default. It looks like a tear-off calendar and always displays the current date and month. You can view your calendar by day, week, month or year. You can sync your Google Calendar with iCal. Go to iCal preferences and select "Accounts" tab. Add your Google Calendar by entering your e-mail and password. Now you Google Calendar is synced with iCal. On the left are two buttons -- "Calendars" and a plus symbol. The Calendars button lets you select the calendars you want to view, while the Plus button helps you quickly create an event. Let's add a new event to a calendar and set its reminder parameters. To do this, double-click any area in the hour/day grid. After the "New event" window appears, double-click it and then click "Edit" in the open window. Now choose a name for the event, then specify the duration or check "All day". Now choose whether you want to be seen as "Busy" or "Free" during the event, then select a calendar for the event. Since we're creating an event called "Business meeting", we'll choose the "Work" calendar. Now it's time to create a reminder. Select the reminder type from the "Alert" popup menu. Choose the time for the reminder. When you're finished making changes, click the "Done" button.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 20428

Likes : 15

DisLikes : 4

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to change power saving settings in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to adjust power saving settings on Mac. To adjust the power saving settings on Mac, go to the "system preferences". Choose "Energy saver". Here you can adjust the period of time after which your computer goes to sleep and the time for the display to turn off if you are not using your computer. Also you can check or uncheck "put hard disks to sleep when possible" option, this way the hard drives will stop spinning if they are not needed. If you check the "allow power button to put the computer to sleep" option, then you will be able to put your Mac into the sleep mode with a single push of the power button. If you have frequent power outages then you must check the "Start up automatically after a power failure" option, this way your computer will startup automatically when the power is back on. Or you can reset the power saving settings by clicking on the "restore defaults" button.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 4206

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:38.000Z

Learn how to change default system internet browser in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set default browser on Mac. In order to set default browser on Mac PC, open Safari browser. Click on "Safari" tab and choose "preferences". In opened window in "default web browser" line select any of your installed or preferred browsers as your default browser and just quit the "preferences" window.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 356

Likes : 0

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2016-06-19T23:12:55.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to password-protect your screensaver on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Having your screensaver locked with a password in “El Capitan” is possible with the help of built-in screen lock feature. Step 1. Go to Apple menu on a top left corner of your screen and use “System Preferences”. Step 2. Click on “Security and Privacy” app. Step 3. Tick the “Require password... after the sleep or screen saver begins” option and choose the timing from the drop-down menu. We will pick 5 minutes. Result: You are the done. Now every time you leave your Mac for more than 5 minutes, the screensaver will start and it will require password to be unlocked.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5017

Likes : 1

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to perform regular system backups in Mac OS X using Time Machine. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ It's extremely important to regularly make backup copies of all data that you work with. It's even better if those backup copies can be automatically created by the operating system. OS X (os ten) has a built-in backup program to do just that. It's called Time Machine, and we'll talk about it in this video lesson. To set up Time Machine, go to the "System preferences" and choose "Time Machine". Choose a back up disk by pressing the "Select disk" button. It's best to store backups on an external hard drive if you have one. To exclude a folder or disc from the backup, click Options and add the folder or disc to the list of exclusions by clicking +. You can also enable notifications about old backups deletion. Click Save and start backing up. By default, Time Machine saves copies of the operating system on an hourly, daily, and weekly basis. So you can always revert back to a previous state of your operating system if you ever have any problems.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 107635

Likes : 280

DisLikes : 33

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to move or copy application to an external hard drive in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to transfer applications from mac onto an external drive. Open external hard drive. First we need to create a folder to transfer the applications. Right click and choose "New Folder". Double click to open it. Next open a "New Finder Window" by right clicking the "Finder" icon in the "Dock". In the opened window, go to the Applications folder. Now simply drag and drop preferred applications onto the external hard drive to copy them. If you want move the application to the external hard drive, hold the "Command" key on your keyboard. To move the application you will have to provide the administrator password. Now you can open applications directly from your external hard drive.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2604

Likes : 6

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:52.000Z

Learn how to switch easily between opened programs in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to switch quickly between opened applications on Mac. In order to switch between the applications on Mac, a few apps have to be open. Now, just by holding down the "Command" key and pressing the "Tab" key, the icons of your active applications will be displayed in a mini-dock on the screen, waiting for you to pick the one you want. Also you can use a mouse to switch between the applications.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 1803

Likes : 4

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to automatically change wallpapers in random order on Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show how to shuffle wallpapers on Mac. In order to shuffle the wallpapers in Mac OS X, go to the "system preferences". Choose "desktop & screen saver". Check the "change picture" option to automatically change the desktop background in a set period of time. Check the "random order" option to shuffle the wallpapers. Also you can choose the period of time in which the desktop background will be changed.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 41877

Likes : 41

DisLikes : 16

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to setup iCloud in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use iCloud on Mac Go to the "System Preferences" and choose "iCloud". You have to enter your Apple ID to sign in to iCloud. After that, check the "Use iCloud for contacts, calendars and bookmarks" option and press Next. To adjust your iCloud storage click "Manage". Here you can see which applications take space in your account. You can extend your storage space by clicking on the "Change Storage Plan" button. Now lets take a look at a quick example of how iCloud works. Open Safari and go to "icloud.com". Sign in with your Apple ID and go to "Notes". Apply some changes. After you are finished all the changes will be automatically synced with your computer. Lets open "Notes" application and take a look. That's just a simple example, for additional information, go to Apple.com and search for iCloud.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 137342

Likes : 219

DisLikes : 16

Published Date : 2014-02-28T15:52:27.000Z

In this tutorial we will guide you how to access ftp server in mac. In mac, we can access FTP servers from the desktop only, without using any third party softwares. Let's see how that's done. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Connect to Server To access ftp in mac, move to the "Go" Menu and click on the "Connect to Server" option. You can use the shortcut key Command K for that as well.   Step 2 -- Entering in the ftp server address With the new window opened up, you would be required to enter the address of your FTP server. Once done, simply click on connect.   Step 3 -- Entering in the login details After that, the authentication window will open up. Over here, you will see the two options. Connect as Guest or Connect as a Registered User. If you are a registered user, you would be required to enter the name and password which would be provided by the web administrator or hosting company. So let's enter the username and password over here and click on the connect option.   Step 4 -- Browsing through the Ftp server It might take a few seconds to make the connection between your MAC and the FTP Server. Once the connection has been successfully established, you will see the contents of the FTP Server in the folder here. Now you can navigate and browse through your server. MAC will also automatically mount the FTP folder once you have accessed it, so it can easily be accessible through the desktop once a successful connection has been established. If you close the server windows, the folder would still be present and accessible. Therefore, if you want to exit from the server, do remember to eject the FTP server.   Step 5 -- Using the Filezilla Quick Connect feature Alternatively, you can use various third party applications for connecting with FTP in mac. One such application is Filezilla, which is a lightweight application available for the Mac Operating System as well. It is extremely easy to use and provides you with much more functionality than the Connect to Server utility in Mac. The application can be downloaded from filezilla-project.org Over here, in the bar on top you can directly connect to your FTP server. All you would need is to enter the Hostname, username, password and the port number. The hostname can differ from your website domain, so it's important to get the information from your hosting company. The default port number used for establishing an ftp connection is 21. Once you hit the quick connect button, it will automatically connect to your ftp server.   Step 6 -- Uploading files through filezilla With the connection established successfully, you can navigate and browse through your FTP server. If you want to upload anything, all you have to do is drag and drop the file in the remote site browser section. Once the upload is complete, the file will be showing over here, which means it has been uploaded successfully.   Step 7 -- Using the Site manager Utility Furthermore, if you want the application to remember the login credentials of your FTP server, you can open up the site manager and add a site over here. For that, you would have to click on the New Site button. Once done, you can start by naming the connection, entering the details like the host name and the port number. You can even use this application to log on anonymously to the FTP server, but for this tutorial, we will be choosing for the "ask for password" option over here instead. What this will do is ask for the password every time a connection is to be made with the server. Now if you want to connect to the FTP server, all you have to do is open up the site manager, select the connection from the pane here and click on connect. The application will prompt you for the password, and once entered, it will automatically connect to your FTP server. And that's how you can access your ftp server in mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 176930

Likes : 215

DisLikes : 37

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:49.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to set a password on Mac so as to protect you private content and to alter the login settings of accounts on your system. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To protect the privacy of your files and folders, you can set a password on mac. Through this tutorial you will learn about password protection for mac and how to protect the privacy of your content. The password will restrict the unauthorized person from using your computer. Step # 1-Click on System preferences To set a password, first of all, you will need to access the system preferences. You can do that by moving to the dock below or opening the "apple menu" and clicking on the "system preferences" option there. Step # 2 -- Click on Security and Privacy button Once it is opened, click on the "security and privacy" button which is located at the top of the window. Step # 3 -- Click on the unlock button To make the changes here, you first need to click on the "lock" icon below the window. With that done, a new window will appear where you will be required to type in the password. Since we haven't assigned any password here, we will simply click on the "unlock" option. Step # 4 -- Set the time period For password protection on mac tick on the checkbox titled "Require password". You can set the time period the operating system asks for the password, after which it goes to sleep or the screen saver begins. Step # 5 --Change the settings of login You can also make changes for all the accounts in this computer. For example disabling automatic login or requiring a password whenever someone wants to access system preferences. Step # 6 -- Set time for logging out You can even set the time after which the operating system will log out automatically when inactive and this will save your battery time. Step # 7 -- Customize the message For a customized message to appear when the screen is locked, tick mark the option "show a message when the screen is locked". Step # 8 -- Select the lock icon Now, click on the "lock" icon below to lock the changes that you made. This tutorial shows an easy way to set password on mac and protect your private content.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2470

Likes : 8

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2013-06-05T07:30:07.000Z

You can insert a screen saver in Mac which comes to life when you are not using your system and it is idle for a certain number of minutes. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will show you how to change screen saver on Mac. Screensaver is basically the program through which your system's screen blacks out or is either replaced by images or patterns that move. A screen saver on Mac is essentially used for three main purposes. It is used to ensure privacy, to show your computers information and status or for entertainment. Step 1 -- Go to the System Preferences window First of all, click on the System Preferences icon which is placed on the doc panel. With that done the System Preference window will open up. Over here, in the Personal section, double click on the Desktop and Screen Saver Icon. Step 2 -- Set a Screen Saver Once the Desktop and Screen Saver window opens up, you can see the different screen savers in the list over here. For now, let's click on the Computer Name option and tick on the checkbox next to the "show with clock" option. With that done, now let's click on Test and now we can preview the screen saver. Step 3 -- Add a personalized message If we click on Options, we can enter a personalized message in our screensaver. For example, over here let's change the text to "Mac Os X". Step 4 -- Change the idle time You can also change the idle time before the screen saver on Mac starts. For that, simply move the slider left to right according to your requirements. Step 5 -- Go directly to the Screen Saver window You can also go directly to the Desktop and Screen Saver window by right clicking on the desktop, and then clicking on the change Desktop Background option. Step 6 -- Preview the current Screen Saver Over here, simply move the Screen Saver tab and you can see the preview of the current screensaver. And that's it, this way you can learn how to change a screen saver on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 3381

Likes : 2

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:42.000Z

Learn how to create a shortcut for locking Mac OS X from unauthorized access. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to create a lock computer shortcut on Mac. In order to create a shortcut to lock Mac computer, you have to go to "system preferences". Choose "Security&Privacy". In next window, in "general" tab check "Require password" to be set to "immediately". Now go to Safari browser. Type "automator.us". In opened web page go to "downloads". In "downloads" section, select "download the action installer" below "Dispense Items Incrementally". Open the "Automator" install file. Press "continue" in appeared windows and agree with license agreement. Than press install and type in administrator password to start installation process. After the installation process is done, go to "Finder", than "applications" folder. Click on "Automator". In following window press "Application" and "choose". In next window, type "start screen saver" in search bar. Drag and drop "start screen saver" to the right window. Then go to "File" tab and choose "Save". In pop up window choose a name to a file and a desktop location to save. Double-click on "Lock" icon and the screen will be locked. Enter admin password to unlock desktop.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 67712

Likes : 85

DisLikes : 12

Published Date : 2013-05-02T22:00:11.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to install eclipse on Mac. Furthermore, learn how to configure the workspace which eclipse will use to save your projects. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will guide you how to install eclipse on a mac. Eclipse on mac is an open source project which provides a common ground to developers of different languages to create their own projects. Step 1 -- Download eclipse So lets get started with our "how to install eclipse on a mac" tutorial. First of all, move to the dock and open up the Safari browser. With that done, log on to eclipse.org/downloads to download the installation file. Over there, be sure to download the installation file according to the operating system you have currently installed. Step 2 -- Open downloads When the download has been completed, click on the Go menu on the top bar and select the Downloads option in order to open the "downloads" folder. Step 3 -- Archive Utility Over there, you will see the file that we just downloaded. Right click on it and a new window will open up. Over there, open up the file with the archive utility. Step 4 -- Extract the file With that done, extract the contents of the file. Step 5 -- Copy the folder Now you will see the eclipse folder appearing over here. Now let's right click on the folder and copy it. Step 6 -- Paste eclipse folder With that done, let's move to the Applications section and paste the eclipse folder over here. Step 7 -- Open Eclipse Once the folder has been completely copied, let's open up the folder. Step 8 -- Eclipse Startup file Over there, you can find the eclipse startup file. Let's copy and then Paste it on the desktop so that we can access it more easily. Step 9 -- Install updates Now double click on the eclipse icon and it will automatically find and install the required updates. These might include java updates which are a basic requirement for eclipse. Step 10 -- Workspace Launcer Once the processing has completed, let's double click on the eclipse icon to open it. And now you can see that the application will open up and after a few minutes it will prompt you to select a work space. Over there, tick on the checkbox titled "use this is as the default and do not ask again" and click on OK to move forward. With that done, the Eclipse interface will open up and you are all ready to create your own projects in a mac environment. In this manner, you can install eclipse on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 268

Likes : 1

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2016-11-19T23:21:19.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn about macOS Sierra. Features and Review. macOS Sierra offers many new features. It is available as a free update on any Mac dating back to 2010, on any Macbook dating to 2009. Siri: When you install macOS Sierra, the installer will ask if you want to enable Siri. If you don’t want to enable Siri at installation, you can activate it later in the System Preferences. You’ll find Siri icons in two locations: In the Dock, and in your menu bar. Siri on the desktop is a lot like Siri on your iPhone. She can tell you what movies are playing, remind of what you want, where and when you want it. Pull files from finder or search the web for images. Universal Keyboard: Universal clipboard lets you copy and paste data across your iPhone, iPad, iPod and Mac devices. iOS 10 and macOS Sierra make this cool time-saving feature available to everyone right out of the box. You can copy text, images and videos between any number of Macs, iPhone, iPad and iPod devices. There is no special shortcut. In order for Universal Clipboard to work you need to make sure that you are logged in to the same iCloud account on all the devices. Unlock Mac with Apple Watch automatically. You can automatically unlock your mac when your Apple watch is nearby. Simply wake your computer up. Picture in Picture mode: Picture in Picture displays a small video window which stays on top of the screen and is open all the time. If you switch app, the video doesn’t get buried under anything on your screen. In order for Picture in Picture to work, the website needs to implement it. With web videos you’ll see Picture in Picture icon on the video control bar once you start playing it. Finder: macOS Sierra lets you tell Finder to automatically delete items from the Trash after 30 days. You can now view files in Finder list view and keep folders separate from files while sorting by name. You can view the size of folders within the Finder’s list view on macOS Sierra. iCloud: Now you have the ability to automatically sync the Documents and Desktop folder on your Mac thru iCloud to other devices. There are other iCloud drive features: Click the Apple logo then go to About This Mac - Storage - Manage. System information should open with default tab being Recommendation, which offers ways to optimize your storage. You can enable storing your data in Documents and Desktop folders on iCloud if local storage gets full. After enabling this feature, Desktop and Documents folders get removed from your Favorites in Finder sidebar and appear under a new category called iCloud that also contains your iCloud drive. They also appear as folders on the iCloud drive app on your mobile devices. Photos: Photos application now offers Memories, which is a feature that uses information based on faces, places and time to organize photos and videos into events. The Events are macOS curated videos that can be edited by the user too. 3rd Party apps that usually open in separate windows can now use separate tabs instead. There is also a new Apple file system which is faster, more secure and reliable. This system won’t ship to users until 2017.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6962

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:24.000Z

Using launchpad on a mac device can be tricky. Learn how to do it and manage applications on your doc easily from this tutorial. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Apple developed an application known as the launch pad. Each application is labeled by an icon in the Launchpad .Through mac launchpad you can start a program by clicking on the icon. In this tutorial we will show you how to use Launchpad on mac. Step # 1 -- Click on the launchpad First of all, click on the Launchpad icon located on the dock. Once done, all the applications installed on your computer are displayed on the screen, just like in the Ipad. Step # 2 -- Navigate through the launchpad You can navigate through your mouse and swipe from the first page to the second page to view all the installed applications. Step # 3 -- Open an application Now on the mac launchpad let's open up an application which is not located on the dock, for example here we will open the "preview" application. Step # 4 -- View the icon Once the application opens up, the icon appears on the dock. Now when you close the application, its icon also disappears from the dock. Step # 5 --Select Keep in Dock option It is possible that you want the icon of a certain application always present on the dock. For that, open up the application, right click on the "application" icon present on the dock, move over to "options" and select the "keep in dock" option. Now even if you close the application, the icon will remain on the dock. Step # 6 -- Exit the Launchpad If you want to exit Launchpad without choosing an app, click a part of the screen where there aren't apps. This is how you use Launchpad on mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 3791

Likes : 5

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:16:56.000Z

Learn how to compress files in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to create an archive on Mac. In order to create an archive from a file, go to the folder where the file is located. Right-click on the file and choose "compress". A new archive file will be created in the same folder. If you want to archive a folder, right-click on it and choose "compress". In a few moments you will see a new archive file.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 4195

Likes : 6

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to change size of the icon in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change icon size in MacOS. I order to change icon size in MacOS, right-click on desktop. Choose "show view options". In the appeared window adjust the "icon size" by moving the slider. Move the slider to the right to increase the size of icons and move to the left to decrease. Also here you can adjust the text size of the folder names.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 34108

Likes : 21

DisLikes : 9

Published Date : 2012-12-17T05:00:10.000Z

Learn how to delete email account on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To delete an email account from apple mail click on mail at the top of the menu bar. Then select preferences. Select the email account you wish to delete from the account list on the left. At the bottom of the window click on the minus sign. Select remove from the pop up. The account will now be deleted from mail.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 1185

Likes : 6

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2014-01-13T04:11:52.000Z

In this tutorial, we will guide you on how to install Mac OS. For this tutorial, we will be installed OS X 10.8.3. Before we continue with the installation process, you will need to have two things: an internet connection and an Apple ID. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Choose country To install OS X, insert the installation media inside your DVD ROM and then reboot your Mac book. Once the DVD will boot up, you will see the apple splash screen, after which, you will see the Welcome screen. Over there, choose your country and click on the Continue button. Step 2 -- Transfer information feature Next, you will see the screen Transfer information to this MAC screen. Over there, you can transfer the information from another Mac, a windows Pc or another disk. If you want to transfer the information later, select the "Not now" option and continue. Step 3 -- Enable location services With that done, you will have the option to enable the Location Service feature. This option allows the application to use and gather data indicating your approximate location. Check mark the Enable location Service on this Mac option and click on continue. Step 4 -- Add an extra security question Next, you will be asked to enter your apple id login info. Once you are done, click on the Continue button. With that done, the Apple ID Security screen will appear. If your id is secured already, choose the "not now" option and click on the continue button. Step 5 -- Agree to the terms In the next step, you would be required to agree to the terms and conditions. As a result, a pop-up window will appear. Over there, click on the agree button to proceed further. Now your apple id will be updated according to this Mac. Step 6 -- Create computer account Next, the Create your Computer Account screen will appear. Over there, provide your full name, account name and password. Leave the check mark on for the option titled Allow my Apple id to reset this user's password. This option is very useful in case you forget the password of your newly created account; you can always reset it with the help of your apple id. Enable the require password option if you want proper password authentication before logging in. Step 7 -- Choose the time zone Now, the select your Time Zone screen will appear. Choose the closest city from the drop down menu before you click on the continue button. Step 8 -- Register your Mac Next, you would be required to register your Mac. For that, you will have to provide the City, State, zip code or an email address. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will skip this step. Step 9 -- View the version installed Once all of this has been completed, you will be informed that your Mac is set up and ready to be used. Once the desktop opens up, go to the top panel, click on the apple icon and then select the About This Mac option. As a result, you will be able to see the version which is currently installed. In the screenshot below, you can see that it is showing the OS x 10.8.3 version. In this manner, you can install OS X on your MacBook.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 21094

Likes : 20

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:51.000Z

Learn how to update office for mac 2011. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To update office for mac 2011 open a program from the suite like Word. From the help menu click check for updates. Select if you'd like to do this manually or automatically. Then click on check for updates. If there are updates you will now be able to update office for mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 44434

Likes : 101

DisLikes : 41

Published Date : 2016-06-13T22:26:01.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech Introduction: In this tutorial you will learn how to burn files to a CD or a DVD using a Mac running on OS X El Capitan. Prerequisites: CD or DVD, a Mac Step 1. Burning CDs and DVDs on El Capitan is fast and convenient, just have your blank CD or DVD ready and insert it in your Mac's DVD drive. If your Mac has a built-in optical drive or if you connect an external DVD-drive – for example, an Apple USB-superdrive, you can burn files to CDs and DVDs to share your files with friends, move files between computers or create back-up files. Disks that you burn on your Mac can also be used on Windows and other types of computers. Step 2. The blank CD or DVD menu will appear in the center of your desktop. Choose the needed action from the pop-up menu (we'll choose “Open Finder”). You can also tick the box to make opening of any other blank CD or DVD in Finder default. Step 3. Now click on the untitled CD or DVD icon that has appeared on your Desktop - the CD-burning menu in Finder has opened. Great! Alt Text: ”clicking on a CD icon” Step 4. Drag the files that you want to burn on your CD or DVD to the Finder window. In our case, those will be mp3 song files. The files will be copied to the menu and will appear in a form of aliases, which is totally okay. Step 5: If there is some file that does not fit into this CD, right-click on its name in the menu and choose “Move to Trash”. Good! Step 6: When you're ready, press “Burn”. The burning menu window will appear. Give your disk a custom name and choose the burning speed. We'll pick the maximum speed. Step 7: Optionally, you can also save your burned folder to any location on your Mac. Step 8: Alright. Now click “Burn”. The burning dialog window will show you which tracks it is currently burning. It also will show you your CD or DVD when it's done. Result: Congratulations! You've just learned how to burn a CD or DVD on a Mac running on “El Capitan”!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2062

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:52.000Z

Learn how to use Reminders application in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use task scheduler on mac "Reminders" is an application for organizing your work time. It makes creating to-do lists effortless and will synchronize them with your iPhone via iCloud ensuring that you do not forget a single item. To create a new reminder, click the + button at the top, type in a description of the task, and set the time when you want to be reminded. Or you can set the Reminders app to send the alert when you leave or arrive at a particular location.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 13628

Likes : 34

DisLikes : 15

Published Date : 2013-07-30T22:00:12.000Z

In this tutorial, you will learn How to Adjust Screen Brightness on Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Adjusting the brightness of the screen on a mac computer is very simple and can be achieved in two ways. In the dock, select the "System Preferences" icon. Within the "Hardware" row select "Displays" At the bottom of the window you will find the brightness controls, adjust your brightness accordingly. An alternative method is to use the F1 and F2 keys on your keyboard to adjust your brightness levels.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 30038

Likes : 41

DisLikes : 18

Published Date : 2014-03-11T11:51:11.000Z

In this tutorial, we will teach you how to manage bookmarks in Safari in Maverick OSX 10.9. For this tutorial, we will cover how to add bookmarks, how to rename them, how to change the web address it contains and a lot more. So let's get started. You can follow this step by step guide below and learn how to manage bookmarks in Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- View bookmarks First of all, let's open up the bookmarks menu on the top and click on the show bookmarks option. This would open up the bookmarks window where you can view all the pages which you have bookmarked. Step 2 -- Rename a bookmark entry To rename an entry, all you have to do is right click on it and select the rename option. Once the field becomes active, you can change the name of the bookmark accordingly. Once you're done, simply hit enter and the changes will be saved. Step 3 -- Add a bookmark If you want to add a website as a bookmark, simply go to the bookmarks menu while the webpage is opened and click on the "add bookmarks" option. Step 4 -- Choose the folder in which you want to save the bookmark With that done, a new window will open up. If you open up this drop down menu, you can choose in which folder this particular bookmark would be saved in. Over here, notice that by default it is automatically saving the bookmark in the favorites bar, which appears above the tabs, now referred to as the "Bookmarks Bar". Let's save this website in the bookmarks folder instead. This way, you can keep the most important bookmarks for the favorites bar while still having enough space to organize the rest of the bookmarks in the browser. Now you can rename the bookmark and click on the add button to save it in the browser. Step 5 -- Add a bookmark folder If you want to add a bookmark folder to better organize the bookmarks, you can go to the bookmarks menu and click on the "Add bookmark folder" option. Step 6 -- Name the newly created folder With that done, the bookmarks pane would open up towards the left side of the browser. Over there, you can name the folder and now you can add bookmarks directly into this category. Step 7 -- Rename a folder To rename bookmarks in safari, simply right click on it and select the "Rename Folder" option. With that done, the field will become active and now you can rename the selected category. Once you hit enter, the changes would be saved. Step 8 -- Edit address To edit the web address of a particular bookmark, simply right click on it and click on the "Edit Address" option. Step 9 -- Change address With that done, a pop up window will open up where you can change the address of the bookmark. For example in this tutorial, we will change the address to maps.google.com Now when you open up this bookmark, you will notice that the URL you recently added would open up. Step 10 -- Hide bookmarks sidebar If you want to hide the bookmarks bar, simply open up the View menu and click on the "Hide bookmarks sidebar" option. With that done, the bookmarks bar in Mac would be removed. And that's basically how you can work with bookmarks in Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 21128

Likes : 23

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2013-08-15T22:00:10.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to put mac on automatic sleeping mode by making some changes on the system preferences. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will show you how to put Mac on Sleep Mode. The option of sleep on mac can be put up by making adjustments inside System Preferences. To learn how to put the sleep mode on mac follow the tutorial given below. Step 1 -- Select the apple icon First of all click on the apple icon which is located on the top left corner of the screen and from the menu that opens up, click on the Sleep option. This was the manual way of putting Mac to sleep mode. Step 2 -- Put Mac automatically on sleep mode If you want to automatically put Mac on sleep mode, you can do so by making some changes in the System Preferences. Once the window opens up, click on the Energy Saver option under the Hardware Section. Step 3 -- Make changes according to your requirement Now you would be able to make changes according to your requirements. For example the slider over here is used to set the time when your system and the display will go to sleep mode automatically. Step 4 -- Adjust the options Furthermore, there are more power saving options below the sliders which you can try out. For example, you can put the hard disk to sleep mode whenever possible. If you want the system to resume whenever there is any network access, you can go for the second option. The third option over here will put the system to sleep on mac whenever you hit the power button and finally the fourth option will enable your system to automatically restart in case it freezes. Step 5 -- Save the changes Once you are done, simply click on the lock icon again to save the changes made. And that's it this way you can put the sleep mode on mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 4409

Likes : 5

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2013-08-02T22:00:09.000Z

In this tutorial, you will learn How to Eject CD From Mac Pro. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ There are 4 ways to eject a CD from a Mac Pro 1. Highlight the disc icon on the desktop and press Command "E" 2. Click and drag the disk icon on the desktop towards the dock and release in the trash. 3. Open a new Finder window and in the column on left select the disc Icon and press the eject button next to it. 4. Simply press the Eject key located at the top right of the Apple Keyboard.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 37334

Likes : 49

DisLikes : 8

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to zoom in and out using Accessibility functions of Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to zoom out on a Mac. In order to zoom in and zoom out on Mac, you have to go "System preferences". Choose "Accessibility". In appeared window, select "Zoom". Check "Use keyboard shortcuts to zoom" and "Use scroll gesture with modifier keys to zoom". Now you can zoom in by pressing "option, command, +". And you can Zoom out with the help of "option, command, -" keyboard keys.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 1125

Likes : 0

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2013-06-05T07:30:07.000Z

Not all files on Mac appear on your desktop. Follow this tutorial to learn how to use the terminal icon to view the hidden files. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will show you how to view hidden files on a Mac. The system files are usually hidden files since tampering with them can crash the operating system. However, you can view them easily by going through a few options. You can even alter certain options so as to show hidden files on Mac as per your wish and requirement. Step 1 -- Select the "Utilities" option If you wish to view the hidden files and folders, start by dragging your cursor on the menu bar, moving over to the Go menu and clicking on the Utilities option. Step 2 -- Click on the terminal icon With that done, the Utilities window will open up. Over here, simply double click on the terminal icon. Step 3 -- List the directory contents Once the terminal window opens up, let's move to the desktop location and list the contents of the directory. Over here, you can see that the excel file is being displayed in the terminal over here, but since it's a hidden file, it won't be displayed on the desktop, as you can notice over here. Therefore from here, you can view hidden files on Mac. Step 4 -- Un-hide the hidden file Now let's show the hidden file on the desktop by typing: chflagsspace nohidden space followed by the name of the file. In our case the command would be chflagsnohiddenformac.xlxs The chflags command is used to change a file or folder's flags and the nohidden attribute will change the property of the file. Meaning that now, you can see the file appearing on the desktop over here. And that's it, you can apply this method on other folder as well to show a hidden file on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6789

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:49.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to use the print screen function and then work with it to take the screenshot of the active window on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In mac OS X, "print screen" is known as screen captures or screenshots. On the keyboard of Mac there is no button as "print screen", however you can capture the screen by using shortcuts. So instead of the "print screen" button there is a print screen command in Mac Os x. In this tutorial we will show you how to print screen in mac. Step # 1-Hit command shift 4 First of all, press "Command Shift 4". Notice how the cursor changes once you hit the keyboard shortcut. Now you can drag your mouse and make a selection on the screen. Step # 2 -- Open the file Once you release your cursor, the file is automatically saved in your desktop. Open the file and notice that it took a screenshot of everything that came within that selection, including the desktop. Step # 3 -- Take screenshot of the active window What if you want to take a screenshot of only a particular window or the desktop? For that we have Active window. The mac print screen command is "Command Shift 4 key". Press "spacebar" on your keyboard and you will notice that the cursor will change once more. When you move the cursor over the window or the desktop the color changes. This means that a screenshot will be taken of the window which is active before the screenshot is taken. For example let's take a screenshot of the window. Step # 4 -- Look at the file Open up the file and you will notice that the background wasn't captured in this screenshot. Similarly you can take a screenshot of the desktop as well and this is how you print a screen in mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 36780

Likes : 38

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to delete cookies in Safari on Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to delete cookies on Mac Open the "Safari" browser. Click on "Safari" in the menu bar and select "Preferences". Go to the "Privacy" tab and click on "Details" to review the stored data. If you wish to delete some specific data, just select it and click "Remove". Click done when finished. In case you wish to delete all the stored data, click "Remove all" and all the cookies will be deleted.

YouAPI-1


Facebook Page Like Box ::