Mac Os X Tutorials And App Reviews From Howtech....!

About 20 results out of 2057 (0.23 seconds)
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 8387

Likes : 22

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:11:59.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Juggling between two or three tasks while working on your Mac can be a bit of a drag, unless you're using a helpful new feature available in El Capitan – Split View. Let's say we're transcribing a YouTube video and need to simultaneously write and look at the video and a little dictionary. Instead of jumping from one window to another, here's a more handy way. Step 1. In the upper left corner of any of your open windows, you have a little green button. Click on it and press it until your window will turn itself into a half-window. Good! Now you can see all your other active apps on the right side of your window, without jumping from one window to another. Step 2. To return your view to normality, click and press the green button again on one of your screens or apps. Now you are in full screen mode again. Step 3. There is also another way to launch Split View mode. Simply activate the Mission Control app. You can see us doing it via Launchpad: it will show you all your current active apps on one screen. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 60437

Likes : 159

DisLikes : 21

Published Date : 2013-10-14T12:05:52.000Z

Follow this easy step by step tutorial to learn about iWork suite and which is better when compared to Microsoft Office for MacBook. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will be basically discussing what would be a better option for Mac, iWork or Microsoft Office. Step1 -- Microsoft Office In our iWork vs. Office comparison, we start with Microsoft Office first. The office suite for mac is basically 219.99 dollars and if you opt for the home and student edition that would cost you around 139.99. Now that's quite expensive when you compare it with iWork. The three basic applications of iWork, that is, Pages, Keynotes and Numbers are available at 19.99 each. That makes it about roughly sixty dollars for the whole suite. Another feature with iWork is that as long as you can log on to your iTunes account, you can use the iWork suite on multiple accounts and on multiple Mac's, whereas with Microsoft Office, you would only get the license for one user and one Mac. If you want access for multiple Macs, you would have to subscribe to the Office 365 home premium edition which costs about ten dollars a month. Step2 -- Ms. Office vs. iWork However it doesn't come as a surprise why iWork is available at such a price when compared to Microsoft Office. When you compare the features, you can clearly see the difference amongst the two. For example the macro recorder feature in office is a very useful if you want to automate and customize things amongst the different applications within the office suite. iWork however lacks this feature and the only workaround for to customize your excel document, for example, is to write the Macro in Apple Script and use the Automator to run it. So if you are used to VBA editing and macro recording, Microsoft Office would be the tool for you. Step3 -- Application Space But when you compare the layout of the applications, many would agree that iWork applications are much cleaner than Office applications. The problem with Office applications, for example Microsoft Word, is that everything is cluttered up on the screen. You've got like three layers of customizable menu bars on top and many different sections containing more and more options. For the average user, it just looks way more complicated than it should be. With the Page application in iWork, you've got this single menu bar on top and if you open up the toolbar you can configure what's to be included in that menu bar. So everything is at your finger tips without filling up the screen with different options. This way, the user can actually focus more on the document itself. Step4 -- More Software with Office With the Microsoft Suite, you do end up getting a lot more applications for example Outlook for emails, OneNote, Microsoft Access and Publisher. But with iWork, you're sort of stuck with only 3 applications, Keynote, Pages and Numbers. We would like to conclude for iWork vs. MS Office with the fact that if you need a tool for document making and simple number crunching or basic presentation related work for your Mac, then iWork would be tool for you. It's cheaper and easy to use. For professional users who are looking for more advanced features, Microsoft Office would cater your needs better. Hence, iWork or MS Office, it all boils down to the user requirements and purchase capacity.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5139

Likes : 17

DisLikes : 4

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:48.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to View Hidden Files on Mac. Here is how to use Mac’s Terminal to view hidden files. To open Terminal, go to Applications - Utilities and double click on Terminal app icon. Type the following commands in terminal and press enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES killall Finder After all the finder windows disappear and reappear you will be able to view hidden files: To unhide the folders type the following commands in Terminal and press Enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO killall Finder
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 518

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2016-11-19T23:21:17.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Use Picture in Picture Mode on Mac. Picture in Picture displays a small video window which stays on top of the screen and is open all the time. If you switch app, the video doesn’t get buried under anything on your screen. In order for Picture in Picture to work, the website needs to implement it. With web videos you’ll see Picture in Picture icon on the video control bar once you start playing it. When you click it a small video pops up and places itself in a corner of your screen. Web page in safari says “Video is playing in Picture in Picture mode”: You can change the corner placement by dragging the windows. It always has to be in a corner. You can resize the window by dragging from the corner. There are also 3 buttons available: close, pause, go back to standard video view: In order to scrub the video, you will need to go back to the safari page. The window itself does not give an ability to scrub the video.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6559

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Learn how to change homepage for the Safari browser in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set up a homepage on a Mac. In order to set a homepage on a Mac, you have to go to the Safari browser. Choose "Safari" tab and click on "Preferences". In "Homepage" line set the web page you prefer. Close the Safari browser. Open it again and you will see the new homepage loaded.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 39858

Likes : 51

DisLikes : 9

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to zoom in and out using Accessibility functions of Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to zoom out on a Mac. In order to zoom in and zoom out on Mac, you have to go "System preferences". Choose "Accessibility". In appeared window, select "Zoom". Check "Use keyboard shortcuts to zoom" and "Use scroll gesture with modifier keys to zoom". Now you can zoom in by pressing "option, command, +". And you can Zoom out with the help of "option, command, -" keyboard keys.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 17064

Likes : 56

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:25.000Z

Learn how to shutdown mac with terminal. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to shutdown mac using terminal. Open "terminal" application. In the opened terminal window, type "sudo shutdown --h 12:30" to shutdown system at 12:30. If you want to shutdown the system in a set period of time, type "sudo shutdown --h +10". This command will shutdown the system in 10 minutes. Also, if you want to cancel a shutdown, type "sudo killall shutdown".
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 820

Likes : 2

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:47.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Use New Finder Features on Mac. macOS Sierra lets you tell Finder to automatically delete items from the Trash after 30 days. To enable it go to Finder - Preferences - Advanced. Enable “Remove items from the trash after 30 days”: You can now view files in Finder list view and keep folders separate from files while sorting by name. To enable this check Keep folders on top when sorting by name: You can view the size of folders within the Finder’s list view on macOS Sierra. Open Finder and go to View - as List. Go to View again and click Show View Options. Check the box next to Calculate all sizes:
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2976

Likes : 6

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2016-06-19T23:31:58.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to print screen on OS X “El Capitan”. Screen shooting on El Capitan is really handy and easy. As it is always with Macs, you have several options: Step 1. Option 1: To take a screenshot of a full screen, make sure that it looks as neat as you it should look and, when it's ready and clean, press shortly “Command + Shift+3”. Release the keys after you hear the camera-shooting sound. Your screen shot will be saved on the Desktop with the exact time of its' creation as a part of its' name. Step 2. Option 2: To take a screenshot of just an area of the screen, prepare the item that you need to take a picture of and press “Command + Shift+4”. Your cursor will turn into crosshairs. Drag this crosshairs to the corner of the area that you want to snap, select the whole area while pressing your trackpad button and, when this selection is ready, release the mouse. After hearing a short “snap” sound, your picture is ready and waiting on the desktop. As in the previous case, it will have an exact timing as a part pf its' name. Step 3. Option 3. If you want to capture the selected open window of your Mac, simply press “Command + Shift+4” and then the SPACE bar, while holding the first three buttons. You will see a little icon of photo camera appearing over your selected window. Now click on your trackpad. Done! Your window screenshot is already on the desktop. Step 4. While screen shooting defaults of El Capitan are not different from operation system screen capturing options, there is a whole bunch of advanced screen printing apps, compatible with El Capitan, some of which are Snugit or Skitch. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to print screen on OS X “El Capitan”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 49403

Likes : 37

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-09-27T11:24:57.000Z

Follow this step by step guide to learn how to use the imessage application on mac. Learn how to send messages, files, do group chats on the message app. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will teach you how to send an imessage with mac. For this tutorial, we are running OS X Mountain Lion. In this particular version, you can easily send an iMessage using the Messages application. Step 1 -- Select contact First of all, open up the Messages application from the dock. If you click on the plus sign, the contacts list will open. From there, you can search for contacts or select them from the list appearing on the screen. You can also move to the buddies tab to look for the contacts that you have saved in the Buddies list. In order to select a contact, all you have to do is click on the contact which you want to send the message to. Step 2 -- Send message Go to the bottom of the screen and type the message in the field below. Once you're done with that, simply hit enter and that's it. The message would be sent to the selected contact. Step 3 -- Share a file You can also send files with the imessage application. In order to do that, simply right click on the document, go to Share and click on the Message option. Step 4 -- Send an attachment With that done, a pop-up window will appear on the screen. Simply type the contact name and press the enter key on your keyboard. As a result, the selected file will be sent to the contact. Step 5 -- Send multiple messages You can also send messages to multiple recipients. All you have to do is, move to the "To" section and write down multiple addresses there. This way you can group chat with the people in your contact list. Step 6 -- Change visual effects Furthermore, you can also change the visual effects of the message application. For that, simply right click on the application and select an option from the menu. For example, if you want the messages to be shown in boxes instead of balloons, you can select the "Show as Boxes" option. Similarly, if you want both the names and pictures of the contacts to be displayed in the message application, simply select the "Show names and pictures" option. And these are some of the ways in which you can use the messages application. In this manner, you can send an imessage with mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2364

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2016-06-13T22:37:36.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech Introduction: In this tutorial you will learn how to change the display using “System Preferences” on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Mission Control app and other apps from “System Preferences” allow you to do it with ease. Step 1. To access the Mission Control app, go to Launchpad from the doc at the bottom of your screen and click the Mission Control icon. Mission Control will show you the spacebar at the top of the screen. You can see your Desktop and all of your added desktops there. The lower area of the screen will show all of the windows that you currently have active either in a spilt screen view or normal view. Step 2. By clicking the “plus” button from the spacebar, you can add as many desktops as you want. It's also easy to delete them: simply point your mouse at the desktop window and click the little cross on the upper left of the icon. Step 3. Now when we have two desktops created, we can drag some of the windows from the lower part of the screen to the desktop. Here you go! The first desktop is not as cluttered as it used to be. We can also transport ourselves to the second desktop simply by clicking on its icon in the spacebar. Great! Step 4. Other options for customizing your display are available via Apple button, “System Preferences”. When you click on Display, it opens the new menu where you can adjust the resolution of your display, its' brightness and color. Step 5: The Dock app from System Preferences allows you to customize also the appearance of your dock, the size of icons, the doc's position of screen and so on. Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to change the display using “System Preferences”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 23368

Likes : 50

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:04:54.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to switch between the different user accounts on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Are you being the only one in your family who loves Macs and eventually has everyone else switching to your Mac and using your Mac because it's so nice and handy? Yeah! We know that feeling. We don't think you can block all those folks from using your Mac, but you can certainly make it easier for them to switch. Here's what you have to do to turn on fast user switching. Step 1. Go to Apple menu and “System Preferences”. From there, click “Users and Groups” and then “Login Options”. Step 2. Click the lock and enter your password. Step 3. Tick “Show fast user switching menu as” and then adjust the way your users are handled, as per your convenience. Done – the option is enabled. Step 4. Now here's what your users have to do to quickly switch between themselves. From the menu bar, they should pick fast user switching icon. Then select their username, enter their password and click the arrow to log in. Step 5: Finally, after they are finished, they should not forget about others and open the fast user switching menu and pick login window, so it will be displayed. That's it! Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to switch between the different user accounts on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 28783

Likes : 89

DisLikes : 16

Published Date : 2014-09-08T07:16:07.000Z

If you have just updated your password in your OS X, it might happen that you can’t access your system because you don’t remember your new password. You can reset your user password in OS X Recovery mode. After doing this, make sure you backup all your passwords somewhere else that is not in your Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step # 1 - Go in to the OS X recovery mode First of all, you’ll need to boot into OS X Recovery mode. To do this, you’ll need to restart your Mac. While restarting, hold down “CMD” + “R” until the Apple logo appears. This way you will enter the recovery mode. Step # 2 - Open a Terminal Next, go to the main menu. Choose “Utilities” and then click on “Terminal”. In “Terminal”, type “resetpassword” and press Enter. Step # 3 - Select your user account The “Reset Password” window will open. Next, select your OS X drive. From the drop down box under "Select the user account:"; choose the user account that you want to reset the password for. Step # 4 - Type your new password Type in your new password and re-enter it. You can also choose to write down a hint in the "Enter a new password hint for this user", just in case. Once you’re done, click on “Save”. You will be prompted with a message saying that your user account password was reset, but that your keychain was not reset. Just click “OK” and close all windows. Step # 5 - Restart your Mac Now click the Apple icon at the very top left and choose “Restart”. You can now enter your account with your new password. Result: Congratulations! You’ve just learned How to Reset Mac OS X User Password In Recovery Mode.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 19199

Likes : 66

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-12-23T12:08:28.000Z

In this tutorial, we will guide you on how to use SSH on mac. Secure Shell basically helps you to access and move data from one device to another using a network protocol. It basically provides you with a secure channel. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Use the ssh command Secure shell in Mac OSX in particular is installed by default. All you have to do is go to the utilities window and open up the terminal application in order to use it. Once you are there, type in the following command: ssh YOUR USERNAME@YOUR SERVER ADDRESS Once you hit enter, you will be prompted for the password. Upon typing in the correct password, you will be able to access the other system, which means a successful connection has been established. Step 2 -- Use the ls command Since we are connected to a Linux based environment, let's use the "LS" command to list the contents of the SSH server. Step 3 -- Create a new directory If you want to create a new directory in the SSH server, simply type the "MKDIR" command followed by the name of the directory you want to create. List the contents of the SSH server on Mac and you will notice the newly created directory is there. Step 4 -- Change directory If you want to access a directory, you can use the "CD" command followed by the name of the directory. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will access the newly created directory with the help of the cd command. Step 5 -- Go back to the root Now go back to the main directory by simply typing the "CD" command followed by a back slash. Step 6 -- Use the RMDIR command To delete a particular directory on the server, simply use the "RMDIR" command followed by the name of the directory. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will delete the folder that we just created. Now when we list the contents on the server, you will see that the folder has been removed from the SSH server on Mac. 7 -- Logout Finally, you can close the session by typing logout and hitting enter. Over there, you will notice that the connection has been closed successfully. In this manner, you can use SSH on Mac to navigate through the SSH server.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6905

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:49.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to use the print screen function and then work with it to take the screenshot of the active window on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In mac OS X, "print screen" is known as screen captures or screenshots. On the keyboard of Mac there is no button as "print screen", however you can capture the screen by using shortcuts. So instead of the "print screen" button there is a print screen command in Mac Os x. In this tutorial we will show you how to print screen in mac. Step # 1-Hit command shift 4 First of all, press "Command Shift 4". Notice how the cursor changes once you hit the keyboard shortcut. Now you can drag your mouse and make a selection on the screen. Step # 2 -- Open the file Once you release your cursor, the file is automatically saved in your desktop. Open the file and notice that it took a screenshot of everything that came within that selection, including the desktop. Step # 3 -- Take screenshot of the active window What if you want to take a screenshot of only a particular window or the desktop? For that we have Active window. The mac print screen command is "Command Shift 4 key". Press "spacebar" on your keyboard and you will notice that the cursor will change once more. When you move the cursor over the window or the desktop the color changes. This means that a screenshot will be taken of the window which is active before the screenshot is taken. For example let's take a screenshot of the window. Step # 4 -- Look at the file Open up the file and you will notice that the background wasn't captured in this screenshot. Similarly you can take a screenshot of the desktop as well and this is how you print a screen in mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 1824

Likes : 4

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to automatically change wallpapers in random order on Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show how to shuffle wallpapers on Mac. In order to shuffle the wallpapers in Mac OS X, go to the "system preferences". Choose "desktop & screen saver". Check the "change picture" option to automatically change the desktop background in a set period of time. Check the "random order" option to shuffle the wallpapers. Also you can choose the period of time in which the desktop background will be changed.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2749

Likes : 6

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2013-06-05T07:30:09.000Z

Watch this tutorial to learn how to install and setup Audacity for Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Let's look at how to download and install the popular audio editor Audacity. Step 1: Download Audacity for Mac Visit the Audacity website either by searching on your favorite search engine, or directly to audacity.sourceforge.com. Click on the 'Download' link, and then select 'Audacity for Mac'. Here you can download either the disk image file or a zip file which will download faster since it is a smaller size. Step 2: Install Audacity Once the download is complete, either open the disk image or the zip file depending on which you downloaded, and locate the 'Audacity'. Move this file (the application in itself) to your Applications folder by clicking and dragging. Step 3: Additional resources Audacity becomes much more useful with the addition of plug-ins. Head to the same website where we downloaded the app and again on the 'Download' page for Mac OSX you will find the 'Optional downloads'. I will use the 'LAME MP3 encoder as an example. Clicking on the link, you will be presented with the installation instructions. First head to the link indicated to download the plug-in. I am looking for version 3.98.2, which I will click to download. Once downloaded and mounted, simply double-click the .pkg and follow the installation instructions. Once completed you will be able to export MP3's from Audacity. Leave a comment below or contact us by email. This was a HowTech.tv tutorial. Thanks for watching!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 128284

Likes : 248

DisLikes : 30

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how create a new Apple ID. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set up your Apple ID account. Open "Safari" and go to "applied.apple.com". Click "Create an Apple ID". On the next page enter your e-mail address. It will be used as your Apple ID. Enter a password for you new account twice. Now select a security question and an answer. Specify your birth date. Now enter your personal information, such as: First name Last name Country Address City State And a Zip code. Now enter a security code from the picture and press "Create Apple ID". In the next step you need to go to your e-mail and confirm your account by clicking on a link in the letter from Apple. Enter the e-mail address and password you specified during the registration and click "Verify Address". You new Apple ID account has been successfully created.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 67917

Likes : 283

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Learn how to change default player for media files on QuickTime player in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set quicktime as default player on Mac. In order to set quicktime as default player on Mac, open "Finder". Open folder with video files. Right-click on video file. Click on "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the quicktime player. Click "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now you can see that another video file has also been set to play with a quicktime player by default. Now go to "music" folder. Right-click on audio file. Click "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the quicktime player. Click on "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now a quicktime player is set as a default player for your media files on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 213653

Likes : 93

DisLikes : 39

Published Date : 2012-12-17T05:00:12.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to delete downloads on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To delete downloads you've downloaded open the file window. Navigate to your downloads folder. Select the file you wish to delete. Select it. Right click and select move to trash. The file will now be moved to your trash can. To empty your trash go to the trash can in the dock and right click on it. Select empty trash. Confirm you want to empty your trash on the pop up. Your trash will now be emptied and all files in it will be deleted.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 4034

Likes : 2

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2013-07-31T22:00:10.000Z

In this tutorial, you will learn how to call facetime from Mac to Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Facetime is a fun and free way to make live video calls from one mac to another. The best part is, it's free! All that is required is an internet connection and facetime installed on both macs. From your contacts list, select the person you wish to call. For the purpose of this tutorial, I am going to call my friend Sean. Next to their email address is a blue video camera icon. Click on it to initiate a call. Once Sean accepts my call, he and I can now carry on a face to face conversation, for free, between Toronto and New York! You have successfully made a mac to mac facetime call!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 340

Likes : 1

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:47.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech When you install macOS Sierra, the installer will ask if you want to enable Siri. If you don’t want to enable Siri at installation, you can activate it later in the System Preferences. You’ll find Siri icons in two locations: In the Dock, and in your menu bar Launch Siri by clicking on either one of the icons, You can also set up a keyboard shortcut in System Preferences - Siri (Default keystroke is CMD+Space): Siri appears in a small window in the top right corner. You can ask “Siri, what can you do?”: You can adjust the Siri preferences to your liking by going to System Preferences - Siri: If you have signed into your social accounts on your Mac, you can use commands like, “Tweet, this is awesome,” and more: Siri on the desktop is a lot like Siri on your iPhone. She can tell you what movies are playing, remind of what you want, where and when you want it. Pull files from finder or search the web for images.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 23392

Likes : 20

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:51.000Z

Learn how to update office for mac 2011. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To update office for mac 2011 open a program from the suite like Word. From the help menu click check for updates. Select if you'd like to do this manually or automatically. Then click on check for updates. If there are updates you will now be able to update office for mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2169

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:52.000Z

Learn how to use Reminders application in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use task scheduler on mac "Reminders" is an application for organizing your work time. It makes creating to-do lists effortless and will synchronize them with your iPhone via iCloud ensuring that you do not forget a single item. To create a new reminder, click the + button at the top, type in a description of the task, and set the time when you want to be reminded. Or you can set the Reminders app to send the alert when you leave or arrive at a particular location.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5090

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:52.000Z

Learn how to download and reinstall Mac OS Mountain Lion. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to reinstall Mac OS. In order to reinstall Mac OS first you have to download the latest version of the operating system. Launch the "App Store" from the Dock. In the appeared window select the latest Mac OS operating system from the list on the right. In the following window you can by the OS or redownload it if you have purchased it before. After the download is complete, go to the "Launchpad". Select the Mac OS installation app and launch it with a left-click. First you need to accept the license agreement. Click "Agree" and "Agree" again in the following window. Now select the drive you wish to install the system on. Click "Install" to start of the installation. In the following window enter the administrator password to begin the installation and press "OK". After the installer finishes all the necessary preparations to start the installation process your computer will restart automatically after 30 seconds, but you can press the "Restart" button to manually restart the computer. You will see the warning that you need to close all application before restart. Click "Close Other Applications" and the system will reboot. After the computer has been restarted all the installation process proceeds automatically. The time of the installation depends on your system configuration, but usually takes not more than 30 minutes. After the installation is finished your computer will restart again and will boot in to a freshly installed system, but will keep all your files and application from your previous operating system. Your Mac OS has been successfully reinstalled.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 32821

Likes : 51

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-02-14T16:20:33.000Z

In this tutorial we will show you how to zoom excel mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Sometimes you need to zoom into your excel spreadsheet in order to get a better look at the information you are trying to read. To zoom on excel for mac click on the area next to the percentage at the top. Select the amount you want to zoom in or out and excel will do just that. Now you can see your information on your spreadsheet much easier
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 45339

Likes : 42

DisLikes : 50

Published Date : 2016-06-16T09:13:34.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to detect displays on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” . Normally our Macs are smart and detect automatically any external display connected to it. It would just start working in the extended desktop and mirrored desktop regime. But sometimes display detection does not happen automatically. In this case, one needs to do the following: Step 1. Go to Apple menu in the top left corner of your Mac' screen, click on “System Preferences” and choose “Displays” from all the list of options. Step 2. The new “Display Preferences” window will appear. Now press down and hold the “Option” key. The normally hidden in El Capitan “Detect Displays” button will appear. Step 3. Click that button while still holding down your “Option” key. If you had an external display connected to your Mac in the right way, dual display regime should activate itself. If it does not happen, check your cable connecting the external display or any other cables that you are using for that operation. If you still can not detect display, there is a bigger issue with either the external display or your Mac. Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to detect displays on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 143848

Likes : 232

DisLikes : 18

Published Date : 2014-02-28T15:52:27.000Z

In this tutorial we will guide you how to access ftp server in mac. In mac, we can access FTP servers from the desktop only, without using any third party softwares. Let's see how that's done. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Connect to Server To access ftp in mac, move to the "Go" Menu and click on the "Connect to Server" option. You can use the shortcut key Command K for that as well.   Step 2 -- Entering in the ftp server address With the new window opened up, you would be required to enter the address of your FTP server. Once done, simply click on connect.   Step 3 -- Entering in the login details After that, the authentication window will open up. Over here, you will see the two options. Connect as Guest or Connect as a Registered User. If you are a registered user, you would be required to enter the name and password which would be provided by the web administrator or hosting company. So let's enter the username and password over here and click on the connect option.   Step 4 -- Browsing through the Ftp server It might take a few seconds to make the connection between your MAC and the FTP Server. Once the connection has been successfully established, you will see the contents of the FTP Server in the folder here. Now you can navigate and browse through your server. MAC will also automatically mount the FTP folder once you have accessed it, so it can easily be accessible through the desktop once a successful connection has been established. If you close the server windows, the folder would still be present and accessible. Therefore, if you want to exit from the server, do remember to eject the FTP server.   Step 5 -- Using the Filezilla Quick Connect feature Alternatively, you can use various third party applications for connecting with FTP in mac. One such application is Filezilla, which is a lightweight application available for the Mac Operating System as well. It is extremely easy to use and provides you with much more functionality than the Connect to Server utility in Mac. The application can be downloaded from filezilla-project.org Over here, in the bar on top you can directly connect to your FTP server. All you would need is to enter the Hostname, username, password and the port number. The hostname can differ from your website domain, so it's important to get the information from your hosting company. The default port number used for establishing an ftp connection is 21. Once you hit the quick connect button, it will automatically connect to your ftp server.   Step 6 -- Uploading files through filezilla With the connection established successfully, you can navigate and browse through your FTP server. If you want to upload anything, all you have to do is drag and drop the file in the remote site browser section. Once the upload is complete, the file will be showing over here, which means it has been uploaded successfully.   Step 7 -- Using the Site manager Utility Furthermore, if you want the application to remember the login credentials of your FTP server, you can open up the site manager and add a site over here. For that, you would have to click on the New Site button. Once done, you can start by naming the connection, entering the details like the host name and the port number. You can even use this application to log on anonymously to the FTP server, but for this tutorial, we will be choosing for the "ask for password" option over here instead. What this will do is ask for the password every time a connection is to be made with the server. Now if you want to connect to the FTP server, all you have to do is open up the site manager, select the connection from the pane here and click on connect. The application will prompt you for the password, and once entered, it will automatically connect to your FTP server. And that's how you can access your ftp server in mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2282

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:00:18.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to show hidden files on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Apple has changed its' script parameters for showing hidden files by default in El Capitan. But, as it is always the case, there is a great free app that allows you to see the hidden files. Today we recommend you “Houdini” app, which can be downloaded for free. Step 1. Google “Houdini” app for Mac. Look for the trustworthy shops that have it (like the one that we are using right now), download the app and launch it on your computer. Step 2. From Houdini menu, choose “Files” and click “Toggle File Visibility” icon. After a couple of seconds, the hidden files will appear on your screen. Step 3. To hide them again, click again “Toggle File Visibility”. Step 4. Houdini also allows you to create hidden folders, where you can put your hidden files and browse your hidden files in any folder and on any hard drive. Result: Enjoy revealing your hidden stuff! Congratulations: you have now learned how to show hidden files on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5059

Likes : 1

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to perform regular system backups in Mac OS X using Time Machine. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ It's extremely important to regularly make backup copies of all data that you work with. It's even better if those backup copies can be automatically created by the operating system. OS X (os ten) has a built-in backup program to do just that. It's called Time Machine, and we'll talk about it in this video lesson. To set up Time Machine, go to the "System preferences" and choose "Time Machine". Choose a back up disk by pressing the "Select disk" button. It's best to store backups on an external hard drive if you have one. To exclude a folder or disc from the backup, click Options and add the folder or disc to the list of exclusions by clicking +. You can also enable notifications about old backups deletion. Click Save and start backing up. By default, Time Machine saves copies of the operating system on an hourly, daily, and weekly basis. So you can always revert back to a previous state of your operating system if you ever have any problems.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 367

Likes : 0

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2016-06-19T23:12:55.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to password-protect your screensaver on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Having your screensaver locked with a password in “El Capitan” is possible with the help of built-in screen lock feature. Step 1. Go to Apple menu on a top left corner of your screen and use “System Preferences”. Step 2. Click on “Security and Privacy” app. Step 3. Tick the “Require password... after the sleep or screen saver begins” option and choose the timing from the drop-down menu. We will pick 5 minutes. Result: You are the done. Now every time you leave your Mac for more than 5 minutes, the screensaver will start and it will require password to be unlocked.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 149077

Likes : 313

DisLikes : 29

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:11.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to use Boot Camp Assistant in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use Boot Camp on Mac. Lets start with inserting Windows installation disk and an empty USB Flash drive. Now proceed to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start the Boot Camp Assistant. When the Boot Camp Assistant is launched, press Continue. In the next window, check the "Download the Latest Windows Support Software from Apple" and "Install Windows 7" options. In the next menu choose "Save a copy to an External Drive". For the Windows to recognize this drive, it needs to be formatted into the FAT file system. To do that, go to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start Disk Utility. Select your External USB Flash Drive from the list on the left and go to the "Erase" tab. Select the "MS-DOS (FAT)" file system and name your drive, for example "SUPPORT". Press the "Erase" button below and confirm this action. After the formatting is complete, we can close Disk Utility and go back to the Boot Camp Assistant. Press Continue. Choose where to download the Windows support files, in our case it will be USB external drive named SUPPORT. Press SAVE. The download process will take about 20 minutes. When the download is complete the partitioning menu will appear. Choose the size of the partition. There are two options: you can cut your hard drive in half by pressing "Divide Equally" button or you can move the dot to specify how much disk space you would like to allocate for Windows. Let's make it 30 GB. Press the "Install" button and after the partition is created, your Mac will reboot and the installation process will begin.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6358

Likes : 18

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:24.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to adjust the dock settings on mac so as to customize it according to you preference and requirement. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Dock on mac allows you to conveniently open items which are used frequently. Features including accessing contextual menus, creating hierarchical menus that can be changed from here. In this tutorial we will show you how to work with mac dock settings. Step # 1 -- Click on Dock preferences Dock on mac can be accessed by going to the "apple menu" and moving over to "Dock". Here you will see a number of options to work with. From the menu, choose the "Dock Preferences" option. Step # 2 -- Change the size of dock Once the dock window opens, move over to the "size" option. As you move the slider towards the left, the size of the doc increases. Step # 3 -- Change the level of magnification The dock on man can be further modified by enabling or disabling the "magnification" option. When disabled, the icons of the applications on your dock don't increase once the cursor moves over them. You can choose how big or small the magnification should grow to once the cursor moves over the icons. Step # 4 -- Change position of dock Furthermore, you can change the position of the dock on your screen. It can appear on the left side, bottom or at the center of the screen. Step # 5 --Hide the dock By enabling the "Automatically hide and show the dock" option, you can hide the Dock so that it only appears when the cursor moves towards that side of the screen. Step # 6 -- Change minimizing speed You can also change the minimizing effect. Click on the dropdown menu and you will be shown two different options. One is the "Genie effect" and the other is the "scale effect". By disabling the "animate opening applications" option, the process will not be animated when you open up a new application. It will simply appear on the screen. This is how you work with and adjust mac dock settings.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 15073

Likes : 23

DisLikes : 3

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:27.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to format your external storage device that is the USB easily, so as to remove any existing viruses in it. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ From this tutorial you will learn how you can quickly do usb formatting and make it functional again for optimal use. USB flash drives are great when it comes to data storage and safe data transfer gadget but sometimes you need to do flash drive formatting to get rid of the viruses that are transferred in your drive. In this tutorial, we will teach you how to format usb in mac. Step # 1-Open the folder First of all, press the "Command + Up + A" key to open the enclosed folder, and move to the USB drive. Here you can see that we have a backup folder stored in the USB. Step # 2 -- Open disk utility Now move on to "spotlight" and type in "application disk utility". Once the results are shown go to "options" and open up "Disk Utility". Step # 3 -- Click on the "erase" tab In order to do usb formatting, go to your usb drive and move on to the "erase" tab. Here you can see two options below. One is the "erase free space" option while the other is simply the "erase" option. By securely erasing the free space on your disk drive, chances of the deleted files being recovered are reduced. Step # 4 -- Click on the "erase" button Since we want to format our usb and erase all the data there, we will simply choose the "erase" option. The processing takes about a few minutes. Step # 5 --View the usb Once done, move back up to the USB drive and you can see that all the data has been erased and this is how you can format usb in mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 10621

Likes : 60

DisLikes : 25

Published Date : 2016-06-13T22:32:49.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to change application icons on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. They say that change is inevitable and you have to deal with it. Well, we fully embrace the new icon-to-picture changing options of “El Capitan”. There are so many things that you can do: let's explore all of the options! Step 1. Suppose you want to replace your old boring folder icon with the image of a squirrel. Such a great idea! Copy the picture that you want to use. For instance, we are are simply opening the image file in “Preview”, select the image area and, from the “Preview” menu on top of the screen, we choose “Edit” and “Copy”. Now our squirrel is waiting in the clipboard. Step 2. Right-click (which is hold Control key) and click the folder icon at the same time, then choose “Get info” from the pop-up window. Step 3. In the new pop-up window, click the folder icon in the upper part of it and choose “Edit” and “Paste” from Finder menu. Done! Step 4. Suppose you want most of your folder icons to look like squirrels. Why not? Now right-click on folder icon with the squirrel, choose “Get Info” again and, from the pop-up window, click on the squirrel picture on top of it. Step 5: Choose “Edit” and “Copy” from Finder menu. Right-click on the folder icon, which you want to replace. Repeat exactly the same actions as last time, but select “Paste” from the Finder menu instead. Alright, you're done! Repeat the same paste action with all of the folders, for which you want to replace icons. That's the squirrel invasion. Yay! Step 6: And now let's suppose that you are tired of all those changes and you want to return to initial folder view. Great! Right-click on the folder icon that you want to return to normality. Step 7: Choose “Get Info” and, from the pop-up window, click on the squirrel picture. Step 8: From Finder menu on top, choose “Cut”. Here you go! We're back to the folder's initial view. We leave you to experiment with those wonderful picture options further. Thank you for watching our tutorial! Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to change application icons on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 18000

Likes : 21

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:18:48.000Z

Learn how to use keyboard shortcuts in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ First of all we will show you the "command+Shift+3" hotkey, which makes a screenshot of a selected area and saves it on your desktop. The next hotkey is "command+shift+4" which makes a screenshot of your desktop. To show you the next hotkey, open the "safari" browser. Open a new tab. Then just press "command+W" to close a tab. Next hotkey is "command+q" that helps to quit any application. Open the "Safari" browser again. With the help of "command + A" hotkey you can select all. The next hot key is "Alt + "down" arrow key or "up" arrow key which helps you to scroll down or up on a web page or any document. The next hotkey is "shift+command+q" that closes all applications and logs out. With the help of the following hotkeys you can zoom in by pressing "command + " and zoom out by pressing "command -" in any application. This was just a short list of hotkeys on Mac you can use.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 182111

Likes : 222

DisLikes : 37

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:49.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to set a password on Mac so as to protect you private content and to alter the login settings of accounts on your system. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To protect the privacy of your files and folders, you can set a password on mac. Through this tutorial you will learn about password protection for mac and how to protect the privacy of your content. The password will restrict the unauthorized person from using your computer. Step # 1-Click on System preferences To set a password, first of all, you will need to access the system preferences. You can do that by moving to the dock below or opening the "apple menu" and clicking on the "system preferences" option there. Step # 2 -- Click on Security and Privacy button Once it is opened, click on the "security and privacy" button which is located at the top of the window. Step # 3 -- Click on the unlock button To make the changes here, you first need to click on the "lock" icon below the window. With that done, a new window will appear where you will be required to type in the password. Since we haven't assigned any password here, we will simply click on the "unlock" option. Step # 4 -- Set the time period For password protection on mac tick on the checkbox titled "Require password". You can set the time period the operating system asks for the password, after which it goes to sleep or the screen saver begins. Step # 5 --Change the settings of login You can also make changes for all the accounts in this computer. For example disabling automatic login or requiring a password whenever someone wants to access system preferences. Step # 6 -- Set time for logging out You can even set the time after which the operating system will log out automatically when inactive and this will save your battery time. Step # 7 -- Customize the message For a customized message to appear when the screen is locked, tick mark the option "show a message when the screen is locked". Step # 8 -- Select the lock icon Now, click on the "lock" icon below to lock the changes that you made. This tutorial shows an easy way to set password on mac and protect your private content.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 175600

Likes : 962

DisLikes : 35

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to change default player for media files on VLC Player in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set vlc as default Mac player. In order to set vlc as a default Mac player, open Safari browser. Type "vlc". Open the first result web page. In opened web page choose "Download VLC". Wait until the download process will be completed. Open the downloaded file. In appeared window drag "vlc" file to "applications" folder. After the installation is done, go to "application" folder. Double-click on "vlc" application. Close the application. Open "Finder". Go to "movies" folder. Right-click on video file. Click on "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the vlc player. Click "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now go to "music" folder. Right-click on audio file. Click "get info". In appeared window in "Open with" line select the vlc player. Click on "change all". When you see warning, press "Continue". Now a vlc player is set as a default player for your media files on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 116348

Likes : 287

DisLikes : 9

Published Date : 2013-09-25T13:29:45.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Follow this step by step guide to learn what mac x11 is. Learn how to download, install and make xquartz the default x11 server. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will give you an overview on what Mac X11 is. Mac X11 is basically an implementation of the X window system, more commonly referred to as the X graphical user interface. It is primarily used on UNIX based systems. X11 is basically the eleventh version of the X window system. Mac OS X is completely made of the UNIX core structure and therefore Mac X11 allows you to run the applications developed on a UNIX environment on a Mac. Step 1 -- Install X11 First of all, go to the Utilities folder and click on the X11 icon. As a result, a dialog box will open up asking you to install X11. Simply click on the Continue button to proceed with the process. Step 2 -- Download xquartz If you are running MAC OSX Mountain Lion, X11 is installed by default. But for all the client libraries and server, you need to download the Xquartz package from the following link: xquartz.macosforge.org Step 3 -- Open the setup file Once the package has been downloaded, simply open the wizard and go through the installation process to install Xquartz on your system. Step 4 -- Log out Once you are done, you would be required to log out and log back in order to make Xquartz the default mac X11 server. Step 5 -- Use X enabled terminal When you log in to your profile and go to the utilities folder, you will notice that the x11 icon has now changed. Simply click on the Xquartz icon to open the application. Now there are a ton of things you can do with a fully functional X enabled terminal. For example, you can use UNIX based commands to navigate through and open applications. For the purpose of this tutorial, we want to open the calculator application. In order to do that, type in the following: /usr/X11/bin/xcalc and then hit enter. As a result, a fully functional scientific calculator will open. In this manner, you can work with the mac x11 server.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 19466

Likes : 8

DisLikes : 3

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to perform regular system backups in Mac OS X using Time Machine. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to create a restore point on Mac. To set up Time Machine, click the icon and select "Open Time Machine preferences". In the first window, slide the switch to "On", then choose a disk where backups of your operating system will be stored. You can select more than one disc, if you want to, for example, back up at home and at work. It's best to store backups on an external hard drive if you have one. To exclude a folder or disc from the backup, click Options and add the folder or disc to the list of exclusions by clicking +. You can also enable notifications about old backups deletion. Click Save and start backing up.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2777

Likes : 8

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2013-06-05T07:30:07.000Z

You can insert a screen saver in Mac which comes to life when you are not using your system and it is idle for a certain number of minutes. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will show you how to change screen saver on Mac. Screensaver is basically the program through which your system's screen blacks out or is either replaced by images or patterns that move. A screen saver on Mac is essentially used for three main purposes. It is used to ensure privacy, to show your computers information and status or for entertainment. Step 1 -- Go to the System Preferences window First of all, click on the System Preferences icon which is placed on the doc panel. With that done the System Preference window will open up. Over here, in the Personal section, double click on the Desktop and Screen Saver Icon. Step 2 -- Set a Screen Saver Once the Desktop and Screen Saver window opens up, you can see the different screen savers in the list over here. For now, let's click on the Computer Name option and tick on the checkbox next to the "show with clock" option. With that done, now let's click on Test and now we can preview the screen saver. Step 3 -- Add a personalized message If we click on Options, we can enter a personalized message in our screensaver. For example, over here let's change the text to "Mac Os X". Step 4 -- Change the idle time You can also change the idle time before the screen saver on Mac starts. For that, simply move the slider left to right according to your requirements. Step 5 -- Go directly to the Screen Saver window You can also go directly to the Desktop and Screen Saver window by right clicking on the desktop, and then clicking on the change Desktop Background option. Step 6 -- Preview the current Screen Saver Over here, simply move the Screen Saver tab and you can see the preview of the current screensaver. And that's it, this way you can learn how to change a screen saver on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 49002

Likes : 105

DisLikes : 47

Published Date : 2016-06-13T22:26:01.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech Introduction: In this tutorial you will learn how to burn files to a CD or a DVD using a Mac running on OS X El Capitan. Prerequisites: CD or DVD, a Mac Step 1. Burning CDs and DVDs on El Capitan is fast and convenient, just have your blank CD or DVD ready and insert it in your Mac's DVD drive. If your Mac has a built-in optical drive or if you connect an external DVD-drive – for example, an Apple USB-superdrive, you can burn files to CDs and DVDs to share your files with friends, move files between computers or create back-up files. Disks that you burn on your Mac can also be used on Windows and other types of computers. Step 2. The blank CD or DVD menu will appear in the center of your desktop. Choose the needed action from the pop-up menu (we'll choose “Open Finder”). You can also tick the box to make opening of any other blank CD or DVD in Finder default. Step 3. Now click on the untitled CD or DVD icon that has appeared on your Desktop - the CD-burning menu in Finder has opened. Great! Alt Text: ”clicking on a CD icon” Step 4. Drag the files that you want to burn on your CD or DVD to the Finder window. In our case, those will be mp3 song files. The files will be copied to the menu and will appear in a form of aliases, which is totally okay. Step 5: If there is some file that does not fit into this CD, right-click on its name in the menu and choose “Move to Trash”. Good! Step 6: When you're ready, press “Burn”. The burning menu window will appear. Give your disk a custom name and choose the burning speed. We'll pick the maximum speed. Step 7: Optionally, you can also save your burned folder to any location on your Mac. Step 8: Alright. Now click “Burn”. The burning dialog window will show you which tracks it is currently burning. It also will show you your CD or DVD when it's done. Result: Congratulations! You've just learned how to burn a CD or DVD on a Mac running on “El Capitan”!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 64827

Likes : 75

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2012-11-26T17:30:27.000Z

Learn how to easily access your file on your mac desktop by creating its shortcut there rather than copying the whole file to the desktop. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ You can create shortcuts on mac so that the programmer pictures can be accessed easily. Usually people create shortcuts of files which are very large instead of actually copying and pasting the whole file on desktop. In this tutorial we will show you how to create a shortcut on mac. Step # 1-Open Applications folder Shortcuts on a mac are referred to as aliases. In this tutorial, we will create a shortcut of safari. Move to the Applications folder by first clicking on the "Go" menu and then choosing the "applications" option. Alternatively, you can simply press the "Command + Up + A" keys on the keyboard and move to the "Applications folder". Step # 2 -- Click on Make alias option Locate the safari browser here, right click on it and select the "Make Alias" option. You can rename the newly created file and your shortcut will be made. You can use this method to create other shortcuts on mac as well. Step # 3 -- Drag shortcut to desktop You can simply drag the shortcut to your desktop so that it's easily accessible and this is how you create shortcut on mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 18481

Likes : 47

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:21.000Z

Learn how to add keyboard layouts in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set keyboard language on Mac. In order to set keyboard language on Mac, go to "System preferences". Click on "Language&Text". Select "Input Sources" tab. Choose new input languages. Then click on "Keyboard Shortcuts". In following window choose "Keyboard&text". Check the menu point "select the previous input source" and "select next source in input menu". Close the window. Now you can change language by pressing "cmd+Space".
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 40513

Likes : 39

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to delete cookies in Safari on Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to delete cookies on Mac Open the "Safari" browser. Click on "Safari" in the menu bar and select "Preferences". Go to the "Privacy" tab and click on "Details" to review the stored data. If you wish to delete some specific data, just select it and click "Remove". Click done when finished. In case you wish to delete all the stored data, click "Remove all" and all the cookies will be deleted.

YouAPI-1


Facebook Page Like Box ::