Mac Os X Tutorials And App Reviews From Howtech....!

About 20 results out of 3516 (0.23 seconds)
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 17071

Likes : 45

DisLikes : 8

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:11:59.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Juggling between two or three tasks while working on your Mac can be a bit of a drag, unless you're using a helpful new feature available in El Capitan – Split View. Let's say we're transcribing a YouTube video and need to simultaneously write and look at the video and a little dictionary. Instead of jumping from one window to another, here's a more handy way. Step 1. In the upper left corner of any of your open windows, you have a little green button. Click on it and press it until your window will turn itself into a half-window. Good! Now you can see all your other active apps on the right side of your window, without jumping from one window to another. Step 2. To return your view to normality, click and press the green button again on one of your screens or apps. Now you are in full screen mode again. Step 3. There is also another way to launch Split View mode. Simply activate the Mission Control app. You can see us doing it via Launchpad: it will show you all your current active apps on one screen. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to use split view on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 130510

Likes : 251

DisLikes : 31

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how create a new Apple ID. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set up your Apple ID account. Open "Safari" and go to "applied.apple.com". Click "Create an Apple ID". On the next page enter your e-mail address. It will be used as your Apple ID. Enter a password for you new account twice. Now select a security question and an answer. Specify your birth date. Now enter your personal information, such as: First name Last name Country Address City State And a Zip code. Now enter a security code from the picture and press "Create Apple ID". In the next step you need to go to your e-mail and confirm your account by clicking on a link in the letter from Apple. Enter the e-mail address and password you specified during the registration and click "Verify Address". You new Apple ID account has been successfully created.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 111714

Likes : 60

DisLikes : 36

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:25.000Z

Learn how to use iCal in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use calendar on Mac. A shortcut for launching iCal is located in your Dock by default. It looks like a tear-off calendar and always displays the current date and month. You can view your calendar by day, week, month or year. You can sync your Google Calendar with iCal. Go to iCal preferences and select "Accounts" tab. Add your Google Calendar by entering your e-mail and password. Now you Google Calendar is synced with iCal. On the left are two buttons -- "Calendars" and a plus symbol. The Calendars button lets you select the calendars you want to view, while the Plus button helps you quickly create an event. Let's add a new event to a calendar and set its reminder parameters. To do this, double-click any area in the hour/day grid. After the "New event" window appears, double-click it and then click "Edit" in the open window. Now choose a name for the event, then specify the duration or check "All day". Now choose whether you want to be seen as "Busy" or "Free" during the event, then select a calendar for the event. Since we're creating an event called "Business meeting", we'll choose the "Work" calendar. Now it's time to create a reminder. Select the reminder type from the "Alert" popup menu. Choose the time for the reminder. When you're finished making changes, click the "Done" button.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 29480

Likes : 4

DisLikes : 8

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to install iCloud in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to install iCloud on Mac. Go to the Systems Preferences in the Dock and click "iCloud". Enter your Apple ID and password. You will be prompted to activate Find My Mac function that helps to find your computer in case it is lost or stolen. Here we have a list of objects for synchronization. The information about free space on your iCloud account is shown below. To check what applications use more space in your iCloud account, click "Manage". Select an application from the list on the left and you will see what files are stored in the iCloud by this program. Now all your contacts, favorites, calendars, notes and photos are in sync with all your devices.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5396

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to take screenshots in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show how to use print screen on Mac. In order to use print screen on Mac, open Safari browser, for example. Press "Shift+Command+4" on keyboard, press the mouse right button to select the area and drop to make a print screen. Screen shot file will appear on a desktop. Open it to see. Now press "shift+command+3" on keyboard a print screen of a desktop will be done. Open it to see. All print screen files are saving on desktop.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 231083

Likes : 305

DisLikes : 59

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to change apple id in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change apple id. In order to change your apple id, go to the "system preferences". Click on "Users & Groups". Click the "Change..." button right next to the "Apple ID". In the appeared window press the "minus" sign to remove current apple id. Then click on "+" sign and type in your new "apple id" and "password". Click "Ok" and then click "Done". Now your Apple ID has been successfully changed.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 33812

Likes : 107

DisLikes : 17

Published Date : 2014-09-08T07:16:07.000Z

If you have just updated your password in your OS X, it might happen that you can’t access your system because you don’t remember your new password. You can reset your user password in OS X Recovery mode. After doing this, make sure you backup all your passwords somewhere else that is not in your Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step # 1 - Go in to the OS X recovery mode First of all, you’ll need to boot into OS X Recovery mode. To do this, you’ll need to restart your Mac. While restarting, hold down “CMD” + “R” until the Apple logo appears. This way you will enter the recovery mode. Step # 2 - Open a Terminal Next, go to the main menu. Choose “Utilities” and then click on “Terminal”. In “Terminal”, type “resetpassword” and press Enter. Step # 3 - Select your user account The “Reset Password” window will open. Next, select your OS X drive. From the drop down box under "Select the user account:"; choose the user account that you want to reset the password for. Step # 4 - Type your new password Type in your new password and re-enter it. You can also choose to write down a hint in the "Enter a new password hint for this user", just in case. Once you’re done, click on “Save”. You will be prompted with a message saying that your user account password was reset, but that your keychain was not reset. Just click “OK” and close all windows. Step # 5 - Restart your Mac Now click the Apple icon at the very top left and choose “Restart”. You can now enter your account with your new password. Result: Congratulations! You’ve just learned How to Reset Mac OS X User Password In Recovery Mode.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 120160

Likes : 295

DisLikes : 10

Published Date : 2013-09-25T13:29:45.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Follow this step by step guide to learn what mac x11 is. Learn how to download, install and make xquartz the default x11 server. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will give you an overview on what Mac X11 is. Mac X11 is basically an implementation of the X window system, more commonly referred to as the X graphical user interface. It is primarily used on UNIX based systems. X11 is basically the eleventh version of the X window system. Mac OS X is completely made of the UNIX core structure and therefore Mac X11 allows you to run the applications developed on a UNIX environment on a Mac. Step 1 -- Install X11 First of all, go to the Utilities folder and click on the X11 icon. As a result, a dialog box will open up asking you to install X11. Simply click on the Continue button to proceed with the process. Step 2 -- Download xquartz If you are running MAC OSX Mountain Lion, X11 is installed by default. But for all the client libraries and server, you need to download the Xquartz package from the following link: xquartz.macosforge.org Step 3 -- Open the setup file Once the package has been downloaded, simply open the wizard and go through the installation process to install Xquartz on your system. Step 4 -- Log out Once you are done, you would be required to log out and log back in order to make Xquartz the default mac X11 server. Step 5 -- Use X enabled terminal When you log in to your profile and go to the utilities folder, you will notice that the x11 icon has now changed. Simply click on the Xquartz icon to open the application. Now there are a ton of things you can do with a fully functional X enabled terminal. For example, you can use UNIX based commands to navigate through and open applications. For the purpose of this tutorial, we want to open the calculator application. In order to do that, type in the following: /usr/X11/bin/xcalc and then hit enter. As a result, a fully functional scientific calculator will open. In this manner, you can work with the mac x11 server.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 19650

Likes : 80

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:47.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Create Recovery Disk on Mac If you want to perform a fresh and clean install on your Mac then you should create a Recovery Disk. You will need a USB flash drive (at least 8GB), preferably USB 3.0 so it works faster.   Step one, download macOS Sierra from the Mac Appstore. When it’s downloaded, close the installer window using the command CMD+Q: In Finder, go to Applications and right click on Install macOS Sierra app and choose Show Package Contents, then go to Contents - Resources: Now open a Terminal window and type the “sudo” followed by a space, then drag createinstallmedia file from the folder opened earlier into the terminal window: Add “--volume" followed by a space. Connect the USB drive and drag the USB drive icon from your desktop to the Terminal window: Type “--applicationpath” followed by a space. In Finder go to Applications and drag Install macOS Sierra application into the Terminal window: Press Return on your keyboard, type your password then press Y and then Return when asked to do so. The install process will begin by erasing the contents of your USB disk and copying the installer files to the USB disk. The entire process is quite lengthy and can take about 20-30 minutes. Once the process completes you will have working USB macOS Sierra install disk that can be used for a fresh install:
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 64785

Likes : 173

DisLikes : 23

Published Date : 2013-10-14T12:05:52.000Z

Follow this easy step by step tutorial to learn about iWork suite and which is better when compared to Microsoft Office for MacBook. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will be basically discussing what would be a better option for Mac, iWork or Microsoft Office. Step1 -- Microsoft Office In our iWork vs. Office comparison, we start with Microsoft Office first. The office suite for mac is basically 219.99 dollars and if you opt for the home and student edition that would cost you around 139.99. Now that's quite expensive when you compare it with iWork. The three basic applications of iWork, that is, Pages, Keynotes and Numbers are available at 19.99 each. That makes it about roughly sixty dollars for the whole suite. Another feature with iWork is that as long as you can log on to your iTunes account, you can use the iWork suite on multiple accounts and on multiple Mac's, whereas with Microsoft Office, you would only get the license for one user and one Mac. If you want access for multiple Macs, you would have to subscribe to the Office 365 home premium edition which costs about ten dollars a month. Step2 -- Ms. Office vs. iWork However it doesn't come as a surprise why iWork is available at such a price when compared to Microsoft Office. When you compare the features, you can clearly see the difference amongst the two. For example the macro recorder feature in office is a very useful if you want to automate and customize things amongst the different applications within the office suite. iWork however lacks this feature and the only workaround for to customize your excel document, for example, is to write the Macro in Apple Script and use the Automator to run it. So if you are used to VBA editing and macro recording, Microsoft Office would be the tool for you. Step3 -- Application Space But when you compare the layout of the applications, many would agree that iWork applications are much cleaner than Office applications. The problem with Office applications, for example Microsoft Word, is that everything is cluttered up on the screen. You've got like three layers of customizable menu bars on top and many different sections containing more and more options. For the average user, it just looks way more complicated than it should be. With the Page application in iWork, you've got this single menu bar on top and if you open up the toolbar you can configure what's to be included in that menu bar. So everything is at your finger tips without filling up the screen with different options. This way, the user can actually focus more on the document itself. Step4 -- More Software with Office With the Microsoft Suite, you do end up getting a lot more applications for example Outlook for emails, OneNote, Microsoft Access and Publisher. But with iWork, you're sort of stuck with only 3 applications, Keynote, Pages and Numbers. We would like to conclude for iWork vs. MS Office with the fact that if you need a tool for document making and simple number crunching or basic presentation related work for your Mac, then iWork would be tool for you. It's cheaper and easy to use. For professional users who are looking for more advanced features, Microsoft Office would cater your needs better. Hence, iWork or MS Office, it all boils down to the user requirements and purchase capacity.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 48165

Likes : 53

DisLikes : 22

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to setup iCloud in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use iCloud on Mac Go to the "System Preferences" and choose "iCloud". You have to enter your Apple ID to sign in to iCloud. After that, check the "Use iCloud for contacts, calendars and bookmarks" option and press Next. To adjust your iCloud storage click "Manage". Here you can see which applications take space in your account. You can extend your storage space by clicking on the "Change Storage Plan" button. Now lets take a look at a quick example of how iCloud works. Open Safari and go to "icloud.com". Sign in with your Apple ID and go to "Notes". Apply some changes. After you are finished all the changes will be automatically synced with your computer. Lets open "Notes" application and take a look. That's just a simple example, for additional information, go to Apple.com and search for iCloud.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 13992

Likes : 19

DisLikes : 15

Published Date : 2016-06-19T22:43:49.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to hide the menu bar on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan” Sometimes you menu bar eats more from your screen then you can allow. El Capitan allows you to disable menu bar view and hide it really easily. Step 1. Access “System Preferences” (we usually do it via Launchpad app that we keep on the doc at the bottom of the screen) and go to “General”. Step 2. From the new window, tick the “Automatically hide and show the menu bar” option. Okay, you're done! Enjoy using more of your screen and, if you miss the menu bar, you can always go back to “System Preferences” option window and un-tick your menu hiding choice. Result: Congratulations: you have learned how to hide the menu bar on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 289

Likes : 2

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2019-01-17T14:10:14.000Z

macOS Mojave comes with a whole new App Store. As you can see, the application has been completely reworked. Gone are the tabs across the top. They have been replaced with a new menu on the left side of the window, and all of the organization within the app has been changed, along with the design itself. The new Discover tab is similar to the Today tab in the iOS App Store. Apple’s ever-growing editorial team does great work, highlighting apps and developers, creating compelling collections, and surfacing things from the store that might otherwise go unnoticed. From there, the new Mac App Store is broken into four main sections: • Create • Work • Play • Develop These sections all function as mini-homepages, each focused on Mac apps that fall into those broad buckets. Categories serves as a springboard into a specific section of the App Store for further exploration. The final section of the new Mac App Store is Updates. It shows you any third-party apps that have updates, as well as a couple of recently-updated ones. Do you like the new App Store?
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 230

Likes : 4

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2019-01-14T14:50:39.000Z

On MacOS Mojave, continuity has a new feature. You can now use your iPhone’s camera to quickly scan a document and import it into your mac. To do so in Finder, right click anywhere and choose Import from iPhone - Scan Documents. Your iPhone will wake up and open the camera app. Now position your iPhone at a document. The document shouldn’t occupy the entire screen. Once the iPhone detects the document it will automatically take a picture. You can then drag the corners to adjust the selection and then press Keep Scan. You can also either retake the scan or manually press the shutter button and then adjust the selection. Once you tap Keep Scan the document will be imported into Finder. Once you tap Keep Scan the document will be imported into Finder as a pdf document. This feature is also available in many other apps such as Numbers, Pages, Notes, Mail and much more. Do you scan documents often?
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 30439

Likes : 22

DisLikes : 21

Published Date : 2013-07-22T22:00:10.000Z

In this tutorial, you will learn how to import a playlist to iTunes. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, you will learn how to import a playlist to iTunes. Just as we back up important data and documents on our computer in case of a crash, we can also back up our itunes playlists. Doing so allows us to restore our playlists. To Export a playlist, highlight the playlist in the left-hand column, under the File menu select Library, and then select Export Playlist. Choose an appropriate destination to store the file and then click save. I would recommend saving to an external hard drive. This way, if you do have a computer crash, your playlist information is safely stored elsewhere! For the purpose of demonstration, I have deleted the playlist from my iTunes Library. This simulates an instance when you have a crash and have lost your playlists. To Import a playlist, under the file menu select, Library and then select Import Playlist. Navigate to the previously saved file and click Open. Your Playlist has been restored!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 153

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2018-12-27T13:40:42.000Z

You can store your Desktop and Documents folder in iCloud Drive and access them on all your devices, including your Macs, iPhones, iPads and on iCloud.com. Everything automatically stays up to date everywhere. Before you begin, please update your operating systems to the latest versions and make sure that you are logged into your iCloud account on all the devices. Also make sure, that iCloud Drive is enabled on all the devices. Turn on Desktop and Documents on every Mac that you want to use with iCloud Drive: From your Mac, go to Apple menu - System Preferences - iCloud. Make sure that iCloud Drive is turned on. Next to iCloud Drive, click Options. Choose Desktop & Documents Folders. Click Done. To access the files on your Mac: You can find the files on your Desktop and in your Documents folder in Finder under iCloud. You can also search for the titles with Spotlight. To access your files on your iPhone, use the Files app. To access your files on iCloud.com, log in and click iCloud Drive.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5642

Likes : 18

DisLikes : 4

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:48.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to View Hidden Files on Mac. Here is how to use Mac’s Terminal to view hidden files. To open Terminal, go to Applications - Utilities and double click on Terminal app icon. Type the following commands in terminal and press enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES killall Finder After all the finder windows disappear and reappear you will be able to view hidden files: To unhide the folders type the following commands in Terminal and press Enter after each line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO killall Finder
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 381263

Likes : 229

DisLikes : 317

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:24.000Z

Learn how to use Instagram in Mac OS X with a standalone application. In this video tutorial we will show you how to use Instagram on Mac. If you want to browse through your Instagram account on Mac in a separate application, you can download one by opening App Store. In the search window in the upper right corner type "Visual Grub" and press Return key. Select the Visual Grub application from the search result. To download the application click on the "Free" button and choose "Install App". Enter your Apple ID and password. After the download is finished, go to the "Launchpad" and open the application. Enter your Instagram login and password and you are ready to browse through your photos and the photos of your friends.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 26628

Likes : 62

DisLikes : 12

Published Date : 2014-01-14T04:04:12.000Z

In this tutorial, we will teach you how to connect to Wi-Fi on Mac. Follow this step by step guide to learn a couple of ways in which you can enable Wi-Fi and connect to a network. We will also teach you how you can adjust the Wi-Fi settings in Mac as well. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Enable the Wi-Fi Feature So let's start off by clicking on the wifi icon available at the top. With that done, a drop down menu will pop up. If you enable the wifi feature on Mac, it will automatically start searching for the available networks and display them in the menu here. If you want to connect to a network, all you have to do is click on the network and that's it. Step 2 -- Open System preferences There is an alternate way to access the wifi options as well. For that, open up the apple menu and click on the system preferences option. Step 3 -- Open network Over there, go to the internet and wireless section and click on the network icon there. Step 4 -- Enable Wi-Fi feature Once the network window opens, go to the wifi tab and from there, you can enable the wifi feature as well. To connect to a network, you have to select it from the drop down menu for the Network Name. Furthermore, if have enabled the "Ask to join new networks" option, the known networks will be joined automatically. Step 5 -- Configure Wi-Fi settings Furthermore, if you go to the advanced options, you can further configure the network settings for Wifi on Mac. For example, you can change the preferred networks by clicking on the plus or minus sign there. This way, the available networks would be connected according to the preference list. If you uncheck the "remember networks this computer has joined" option, the network won't be saved in the above list. Furthermore, if you tick on any of the three checkboxes here, that particular activity would require administrator authentication. For example, if you want Mac to ask for the administrator password every time you want to connect with another mac, then tick on the check box titled "create computer-to-computer networks". And that's basically how you can connect to Wi-Fi on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 32621

Likes : 43

DisLikes : 20

Published Date : 2014-03-11T11:51:11.000Z

In this tutorial, we will teach you how to manage bookmarks in Safari in Maverick OSX 10.9. For this tutorial, we will cover how to add bookmarks, how to rename them, how to change the web address it contains and a lot more. So let's get started. You can follow this step by step guide below and learn how to manage bookmarks in Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- View bookmarks First of all, let's open up the bookmarks menu on the top and click on the show bookmarks option. This would open up the bookmarks window where you can view all the pages which you have bookmarked. Step 2 -- Rename a bookmark entry To rename an entry, all you have to do is right click on it and select the rename option. Once the field becomes active, you can change the name of the bookmark accordingly. Once you're done, simply hit enter and the changes will be saved. Step 3 -- Add a bookmark If you want to add a website as a bookmark, simply go to the bookmarks menu while the webpage is opened and click on the "add bookmarks" option. Step 4 -- Choose the folder in which you want to save the bookmark With that done, a new window will open up. If you open up this drop down menu, you can choose in which folder this particular bookmark would be saved in. Over here, notice that by default it is automatically saving the bookmark in the favorites bar, which appears above the tabs, now referred to as the "Bookmarks Bar". Let's save this website in the bookmarks folder instead. This way, you can keep the most important bookmarks for the favorites bar while still having enough space to organize the rest of the bookmarks in the browser. Now you can rename the bookmark and click on the add button to save it in the browser. Step 5 -- Add a bookmark folder If you want to add a bookmark folder to better organize the bookmarks, you can go to the bookmarks menu and click on the "Add bookmark folder" option. Step 6 -- Name the newly created folder With that done, the bookmarks pane would open up towards the left side of the browser. Over there, you can name the folder and now you can add bookmarks directly into this category. Step 7 -- Rename a folder To rename bookmarks in safari, simply right click on it and select the "Rename Folder" option. With that done, the field will become active and now you can rename the selected category. Once you hit enter, the changes would be saved. Step 8 -- Edit address To edit the web address of a particular bookmark, simply right click on it and click on the "Edit Address" option. Step 9 -- Change address With that done, a pop up window will open up where you can change the address of the bookmark. For example in this tutorial, we will change the address to maps.google.com Now when you open up this bookmark, you will notice that the URL you recently added would open up. Step 10 -- Hide bookmarks sidebar If you want to hide the bookmarks bar, simply open up the View menu and click on the "Hide bookmarks sidebar" option. With that done, the bookmarks bar in Mac would be removed. And that's basically how you can work with bookmarks in Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 45224

Likes : 53

DisLikes : 11

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to zoom in and out using Accessibility functions of Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to zoom out on a Mac. In order to zoom in and zoom out on Mac, you have to go "System preferences". Choose "Accessibility". In appeared window, select "Zoom". Check "Use keyboard shortcuts to zoom" and "Use scroll gesture with modifier keys to zoom". Now you can zoom in by pressing "option, command, +". And you can Zoom out with the help of "option, command, -" keyboard keys.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 32823

Likes : 109

DisLikes : 10

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:08.000Z

Learn how to open DOS programs in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use dosbox on mac. In order to use dosbox on mac, open the "Safari" browser. Go to "dosbox.com". Navigate to the "Downloads" section. Choose "Mac OS X" version of the program. When the download is complete, open the file. Double click on "dosbox" icon to start the application. Now go to the "user" folder. Create a new folder, for example "Dosbox". Go back to the Dosbox window, type "mount c ~/DosBox" and press "Enter". Then type "c:\". Now you can launch any dos based program, which is placed in a "DosBox" folder.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 10203

Likes : 23

DisLikes : 9

Published Date : 2016-11-20T21:47:50.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Install Fonts on Mac. Once you download a preferred font, unzip it then open the folder. Find the .ttf file and double click it. The font will open in a preview window. Press Install Font to install it: To uninstall a font, find it in the Fontbook application. Right click on it and select Remove Font Family: You can also install fonts by selecting multiple font files and dragging them into the Fontbook application.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 24659

Likes : 29

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2013-08-15T22:00:10.000Z

Follow this tutorial to learn how to put mac on automatic sleeping mode by making some changes on the system preferences. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will show you how to put Mac on Sleep Mode. The option of sleep on mac can be put up by making adjustments inside System Preferences. To learn how to put the sleep mode on mac follow the tutorial given below. Step 1 -- Select the apple icon First of all click on the apple icon which is located on the top left corner of the screen and from the menu that opens up, click on the Sleep option. This was the manual way of putting Mac to sleep mode. Step 2 -- Put Mac automatically on sleep mode If you want to automatically put Mac on sleep mode, you can do so by making some changes in the System Preferences. Once the window opens up, click on the Energy Saver option under the Hardware Section. Step 3 -- Make changes according to your requirement Now you would be able to make changes according to your requirements. For example the slider over here is used to set the time when your system and the display will go to sleep mode automatically. Step 4 -- Adjust the options Furthermore, there are more power saving options below the sliders which you can try out. For example, you can put the hard disk to sleep mode whenever possible. If you want the system to resume whenever there is any network access, you can go for the second option. The third option over here will put the system to sleep on mac whenever you hit the power button and finally the fourth option will enable your system to automatically restart in case it freezes. Step 5 -- Save the changes Once you are done, simply click on the lock icon again to save the changes made. And that's it this way you can put the sleep mode on mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 53528

Likes : 50

DisLikes : 7

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:00:47.000Z

Learn how to delete cookies in Safari on Mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to delete cookies on Mac Open the "Safari" browser. Click on "Safari" in the menu bar and select "Preferences". Go to the "Privacy" tab and click on "Details" to review the stored data. If you wish to delete some specific data, just select it and click "Remove". Click done when finished. In case you wish to delete all the stored data, click "Remove all" and all the cookies will be deleted.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 240

Likes : 2

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2019-01-15T13:06:25.000Z

MacOS Mojave introduced a new system-wide dark mode. To turn it on, go to the Apple Menu - System Preferences - General. Now select Dark and the entire user interface will turn dark. To turn it off, select Light. While in Dark mode, the dock, menu bar, and all of your Apple apps, including Safari, Mail, Calendar, Notes, the Mac App Store, Messages, and more will feature darker colors and themes. Additionally, you have the option to select new accent colors. Choose the ones you desire to further tailor the looks of your macOS. Do you like Dark Mode?
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 137

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2018-12-24T13:28:20.000Z

On macs that run macOS Sierra or higher, all you need to do is just press Command-Shift-PERIOD. To hide the files again, press the same key shortcut. On older macs, however, things are a little more difficult. Open Terminal found in Finder - Applications - Utilities In Terminal, paste the following line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles true Press return Hold the ‘Option’ key, then right click on the Finder icon in the dock and click Relaunch. This will show all hidden files. To hide them again, follow the same steps but replace the Terminal command with the following line: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles false
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 1140

Likes : 2

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:43.000Z

Learn how to set a background image in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change wallpaper on Mac. In order to change wallpaper on Mac, you need to go to the "System preferences". Choose "Desktop&Screen Saver". In following window select wallpaper you prefer and just click on it to change the wallpaper.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 6920

Likes : 2

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2012-12-17T05:00:07.000Z

Learn how to delete history on mac. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To delete your browsing history on a mac go to the safari select history at the top. Then click on clear history. When the pop up asks you if you're sure click on clear. Your history will now be deleted from the browser. Finally click the apple icon at the top left of the menu bar. Click recent items. Click clear menu. This will remove all plist files and delete your history.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 27974

Likes : 46

DisLikes : 6

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:44.000Z

Learn how add and remove applications from the startup list in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to change startup programs on Mac. In order to change startup programs on Mac, you have to go to "System preferences". In following window choose "Users&Groups". In next window click on "Login Items". To add an application, press "+"(plus). From the applications folder select the programs you want to be started at the startup and click "Add". If you want to remove an application from the startup list, select the application and press "-"(minus).
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 31604

Likes : 58

DisLikes : 10

Published Date : 2016-06-20T14:04:54.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you will learn how to switch between the different user accounts on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Are you being the only one in your family who loves Macs and eventually has everyone else switching to your Mac and using your Mac because it's so nice and handy? Yeah! We know that feeling. We don't think you can block all those folks from using your Mac, but you can certainly make it easier for them to switch. Here's what you have to do to turn on fast user switching. Step 1. Go to Apple menu and “System Preferences”. From there, click “Users and Groups” and then “Login Options”. Step 2. Click the lock and enter your password. Step 3. Tick “Show fast user switching menu as” and then adjust the way your users are handled, as per your convenience. Done – the option is enabled. Step 4. Now here's what your users have to do to quickly switch between themselves. From the menu bar, they should pick fast user switching icon. Then select their username, enter their password and click the arrow to log in. Step 5: Finally, after they are finished, they should not forget about others and open the fast user switching menu and pick login window, so it will be displayed. That's it! Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to switch between the different user accounts on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 33357

Likes : 202

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to set change default programs in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to set the default programs on Mac. In order to set the default programs on Mac, open "Finder". For example, go to the "Movies" folder. Right-click on the video file and choose "Get info". Select "open with" and choose the application you want the file to be opened with. Now click on "Change all". In the appeared window click on "continue" to confirm the selected application as a default player for the selected file type. Now, if you click "Get info" on another video file, you can see that it will be opened with the previously selected default program.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 124734

Likes : 344

DisLikes : 38

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to move or copy application to an external hard drive in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to transfer applications from mac onto an external drive. Open external hard drive. First we need to create a folder to transfer the applications. Right click and choose "New Folder". Double click to open it. Next open a "New Finder Window" by right clicking the "Finder" icon in the "Dock". In the opened window, go to the Applications folder. Now simply drag and drop preferred applications onto the external hard drive to copy them. If you want move the application to the external hard drive, hold the "Command" key on your keyboard. To move the application you will have to provide the administrator password. Now you can open applications directly from your external hard drive.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 577

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2016-11-19T23:21:17.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Use Picture in Picture Mode on Mac. Picture in Picture displays a small video window which stays on top of the screen and is open all the time. If you switch app, the video doesn’t get buried under anything on your screen. In order for Picture in Picture to work, the website needs to implement it. With web videos you’ll see Picture in Picture icon on the video control bar once you start playing it. When you click it a small video pops up and places itself in a corner of your screen. Web page in safari says “Video is playing in Picture in Picture mode”: You can change the corner placement by dragging the windows. It always has to be in a corner. You can resize the window by dragging from the corner. There are also 3 buttons available: close, pause, go back to standard video view: In order to scrub the video, you will need to go back to the safari page. The window itself does not give an ability to scrub the video.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 154433

Likes : 323

DisLikes : 34

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:17:11.000Z

Read iSecrets. New magazine about gadgets and mobile technology. http://app.appsflyer.com/id946420218?pid=YouTube&c=Description Learn how to use Boot Camp Assistant in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use Boot Camp on Mac. Lets start with inserting Windows installation disk and an empty USB Flash drive. Now proceed to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start the Boot Camp Assistant. When the Boot Camp Assistant is launched, press Continue. In the next window, check the "Download the Latest Windows Support Software from Apple" and "Install Windows 7" options. In the next menu choose "Save a copy to an External Drive". For the Windows to recognize this drive, it needs to be formatted into the FAT file system. To do that, go to the Launchpad, choose "Other" and start Disk Utility. Select your External USB Flash Drive from the list on the left and go to the "Erase" tab. Select the "MS-DOS (FAT)" file system and name your drive, for example "SUPPORT". Press the "Erase" button below and confirm this action. After the formatting is complete, we can close Disk Utility and go back to the Boot Camp Assistant. Press Continue. Choose where to download the Windows support files, in our case it will be USB external drive named SUPPORT. Press SAVE. The download process will take about 20 minutes. When the download is complete the partitioning menu will appear. Choose the size of the partition. There are two options: you can cut your hard drive in half by pressing "Divide Equally" button or you can move the dot to specify how much disk space you would like to allocate for Windows. Let's make it 30 GB. Press the "Install" button and after the partition is created, your Mac will reboot and the installation process will begin.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 29092

Likes : 21

DisLikes : 3

Published Date : 2012-12-17T04:59:51.000Z

Learn how to update office for mac 2011. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ To update office for mac 2011 open a program from the suite like Word. From the help menu click check for updates. Select if you'd like to do this manually or automatically. Then click on check for updates. If there are updates you will now be able to update office for mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 5204

Likes : 1

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to perform regular system backups in Mac OS X using Time Machine. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ It's extremely important to regularly make backup copies of all data that you work with. It's even better if those backup copies can be automatically created by the operating system. OS X (os ten) has a built-in backup program to do just that. It's called Time Machine, and we'll talk about it in this video lesson. To set up Time Machine, go to the "System preferences" and choose "Time Machine". Choose a back up disk by pressing the "Select disk" button. It's best to store backups on an external hard drive if you have one. To exclude a folder or disc from the backup, click Options and add the folder or disc to the list of exclusions by clicking +. You can also enable notifications about old backups deletion. Click Save and start backing up. By default, Time Machine saves copies of the operating system on an hourly, daily, and weekly basis. So you can always revert back to a previous state of your operating system if you ever have any problems.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 21743

Likes : 41

DisLikes : 21

Published Date : 2016-11-19T23:21:17.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech In this tutorial you are going to learn How to Backup Files to iCloud on Mac (OS Sierra). Now you have the ability to automatically sync the Documents and Desktop folder on your Mac thru iCloud to other devices. To enable this feature go to System Preferences - iCloud - Options (next to iCloud drive). Enable “Desktop & Documents Folders”: There are other iCloud drive features: Click the Apple logo then go to About This Mac - Storage - Manage. System information should open with default tab being Recommendation, which offers ways to optimize your storage. You can enable storing your data in Documents and Desktop folders on iCloud if local storage gets full. After enabling this feature, Desktop and Documents folders get removed from your Favorites in Finder sidebar and appear under a new category called iCloud that also contains your iCloud drive. They also appear as folders on the iCloud drive app on your mobile devices.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 3117

Likes : 3

DisLikes : 1

Published Date : 2012-12-27T14:30:23.000Z

Learn how to download and install fonts in Mac OS X. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to use downloaded fonts on Mac. In order to use downloaded fonts on Mac, go to Safari browser. Type "free fonts". In search results choose "dafont.com" web site. In opened web page select the font category. Choose a font you want to download and click on "download". Go to "downloads" folder and double-click on fonts file. In appeared window press "Install Font". Double-click on other fonts file and install it the same way. Now you can use downloaded fonts on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 46171

Likes : 258

DisLikes : 19

Published Date : 2013-12-24T21:10:37.000Z

In this tutorial you will learn how to hide files and folders on Mac. When you have to share your Mac with someone else, chances are that you don't want him or her to have free access to all of your files. Since you cannot always create a new account for each guest user, here's how to hide files and folders that you don't want others to see. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Let's say, we want to hide the invoice PDF file. What to do? Step 1. In your Finder menu, click "Go", "Utilities" and choose "Terminal". Step 2. Terminal will open a new command window. In this window, type the following command that will hide your file: "chf lags hidden" and a single space. Step 3. Now drag the file that you want to hide to the Terminal window. The name of the file will be added to the command. Step 4. Click the "Return" key: that will activate the file adding command. Step 5. Just in the same way you can hide a folder: watch how we hide the folder with our personal photos. Here you go! Our Mac is ready for guest browsing. Step 6. When you're back to working on your Mac, you'll probably want to unhide your files and folders. To do that, open up the Terminal window again and, while being inside the window, press the "UP" arrow key. That will reveal the last command performed by Terminal. Step 7. Use the arrow key to reach the word "hidden" inside the command and change it to "nohidden".Press "Return" key to unhide the file or folder. Step 8. If you need to hide a lot of files and folders from time to time, we suggest you create a special "hidden" folder where you temporary transfer all of them. Result: You've just learned how to hide and keep secret files and folders on your Mac. This was a HowTech tutorial. Like us on Facebook, love us forever or leave us a comment here in the fields below. Thanks for watching!
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 31666

Likes : 35

DisLikes : 5

Published Date : 2013-08-10T22:00:10.000Z

Follow this step by step guide to install vpn on mac. Through vpn you can visit a public network securely. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial, we will guide you on how to connect vpn on mac. A VPN (Virtual Private Network) provides a sheltered way of connecting through a open network) to a distant network or location. If you want vpn on mac you only need what comes with the Operating System itself, it's all built right in. Step 1 -- Network options First of all, let's open up the System Preferences and click on the Network option in the Internet and Wireless section. Step 2 -- Making changes With the Network window opened up, let's click on the lock icon first so that we are able to make the required changes. These changes are important if you vpn on mac to work properly. Step 3 -- setting password With that done, the authentication window will open up where you would be required to type the password to unlock the settings. Step 4 -- Selecting the type of VPN Now click on the plus sign over here to add a new service. Over here, you can select the type of the interface and name the service. For the interface, we will have to select the VPN option from the drop down menu. Next, you would have to select the type of VPN according to your Server that you are connecting to. For this tutorial, we will select PPTP and click on the Create button. Step 5 -- Filling in the IP address With that done your VPN Adaptor will be created but not configured. Therefore, in the Server Address field, type the IP address of the VPN server. In the Account Name field, you can type the username which is provided by your Administrator. Step 6 -- Typing in the password Now click on the Authentication Settings button and over here, you will be required to select the type of authentication required by the server. Since the server we are connected to requires a password, we will type the password over here and click on Ok. Step 7 -- Applying the changes You can even tick on the checkbox titled "Show VPN status in menu bar" to show you the VPN Activity on the menu bar. With that done, let's click on the Connect button and then apply the changes made. Step 8 -- Connected to server And over here you can see that we have successfully connected to the server. Now you can click on the lock icon to prevent further changes from being made and close the Network window. Step 9 -- Disconnecting To disconnect from the connection, you can click on the VPN Status icon on the menu bar, and click on the Disconnect VPN option. And that's it. We have successfully connected VPN on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 3488

Likes : 8

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2013-06-05T07:30:07.000Z

You can insert a screen saver in Mac which comes to life when you are not using your system and it is idle for a certain number of minutes. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this tutorial we will show you how to change screen saver on Mac. Screensaver is basically the program through which your system's screen blacks out or is either replaced by images or patterns that move. A screen saver on Mac is essentially used for three main purposes. It is used to ensure privacy, to show your computers information and status or for entertainment. Step 1 -- Go to the System Preferences window First of all, click on the System Preferences icon which is placed on the doc panel. With that done the System Preference window will open up. Over here, in the Personal section, double click on the Desktop and Screen Saver Icon. Step 2 -- Set a Screen Saver Once the Desktop and Screen Saver window opens up, you can see the different screen savers in the list over here. For now, let's click on the Computer Name option and tick on the checkbox next to the "show with clock" option. With that done, now let's click on Test and now we can preview the screen saver. Step 3 -- Add a personalized message If we click on Options, we can enter a personalized message in our screensaver. For example, over here let's change the text to "Mac Os X". Step 4 -- Change the idle time You can also change the idle time before the screen saver on Mac starts. For that, simply move the slider left to right according to your requirements. Step 5 -- Go directly to the Screen Saver window You can also go directly to the Desktop and Screen Saver window by right clicking on the desktop, and then clicking on the change Desktop Background option. Step 6 -- Preview the current Screen Saver Over here, simply move the Screen Saver tab and you can see the preview of the current screensaver. And that's it, this way you can learn how to change a screen saver on Mac.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 1207

Likes : 6

DisLikes : 0

Published Date : 2014-01-13T04:11:52.000Z

In this tutorial, we will guide you on how to install Mac OS. For this tutorial, we will be installed OS X 10.8.3. Before we continue with the installation process, you will need to have two things: an internet connection and an Apple ID. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on Facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ Step 1 -- Choose country To install OS X, insert the installation media inside your DVD ROM and then reboot your Mac book. Once the DVD will boot up, you will see the apple splash screen, after which, you will see the Welcome screen. Over there, choose your country and click on the Continue button. Step 2 -- Transfer information feature Next, you will see the screen Transfer information to this MAC screen. Over there, you can transfer the information from another Mac, a windows Pc or another disk. If you want to transfer the information later, select the "Not now" option and continue. Step 3 -- Enable location services With that done, you will have the option to enable the Location Service feature. This option allows the application to use and gather data indicating your approximate location. Check mark the Enable location Service on this Mac option and click on continue. Step 4 -- Add an extra security question Next, you will be asked to enter your apple id login info. Once you are done, click on the Continue button. With that done, the Apple ID Security screen will appear. If your id is secured already, choose the "not now" option and click on the continue button. Step 5 -- Agree to the terms In the next step, you would be required to agree to the terms and conditions. As a result, a pop-up window will appear. Over there, click on the agree button to proceed further. Now your apple id will be updated according to this Mac. Step 6 -- Create computer account Next, the Create your Computer Account screen will appear. Over there, provide your full name, account name and password. Leave the check mark on for the option titled Allow my Apple id to reset this user's password. This option is very useful in case you forget the password of your newly created account; you can always reset it with the help of your apple id. Enable the require password option if you want proper password authentication before logging in. Step 7 -- Choose the time zone Now, the select your Time Zone screen will appear. Choose the closest city from the drop down menu before you click on the continue button. Step 8 -- Register your Mac Next, you would be required to register your Mac. For that, you will have to provide the City, State, zip code or an email address. For the purpose of this tutorial, we will skip this step. Step 9 -- View the version installed Once all of this has been completed, you will be informed that your Mac is set up and ready to be used. Once the desktop opens up, go to the top panel, click on the apple icon and then select the About This Mac option. As a result, you will be able to see the version which is currently installed. In the screenshot below, you can see that it is showing the OS x 10.8.3 version. In this manner, you can install OS X on your MacBook.
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 2606

Likes : 7

DisLikes : 2

Published Date : 2016-06-13T22:37:36.000Z

Don't forget to check out our main channel https://www.youtube.com/c/HowTech for more free how-to videos! Join us on Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/howtechtv Our App http://bit.ly/how-tech Introduction: In this tutorial you will learn how to change the display using “System Preferences” on a Mac running on OS X “El Capitan”. Mission Control app and other apps from “System Preferences” allow you to do it with ease. Step 1. To access the Mission Control app, go to Launchpad from the doc at the bottom of your screen and click the Mission Control icon. Mission Control will show you the spacebar at the top of the screen. You can see your Desktop and all of your added desktops there. The lower area of the screen will show all of the windows that you currently have active either in a spilt screen view or normal view. Step 2. By clicking the “plus” button from the spacebar, you can add as many desktops as you want. It's also easy to delete them: simply point your mouse at the desktop window and click the little cross on the upper left of the icon. Step 3. Now when we have two desktops created, we can drag some of the windows from the lower part of the screen to the desktop. Here you go! The first desktop is not as cluttered as it used to be. We can also transport ourselves to the second desktop simply by clicking on its icon in the spacebar. Great! Step 4. Other options for customizing your display are available via Apple button, “System Preferences”. When you click on Display, it opens the new menu where you can adjust the resolution of your display, its' brightness and color. Step 5: The Dock app from System Preferences allows you to customize also the appearance of your dock, the size of icons, the doc's position of screen and so on. Result: Congratulations: you have just learned how to change the display using “System Preferences”
    

Channel Title : Mac OS X Tutorials and App reviews from HowTech

Views : 17255

Likes : 38

DisLikes : 12

Published Date : 2013-01-22T12:01:18.000Z

Learn how to start the Apache engine in Mac OS. Don't forget to check out our site http://howtech.tv/ for more free how-to videos! http://youtube.com/ithowtovids - our feed http://www.facebook.com/howtechtv - join us on facebook https://plus.google.com/103440382717658277879 - our group in Google+ In this video tutorial we will show you how to install apache on mac. "Apache" is already built-n the Mac OS, you just have to start it. Go to the the "Launchpad and choose "Other". Launch "Terminal" by clicking on its icon. In the appeared window enter the command "sudo apachectl start" and press "Enter" on the keyboard. Now you need to enter an administrator password and press "Enter" again. To check the version of the preinstalled "Apache" enter the command "httpd -v" and press "Enter". To check if the "Apache" is working, open the "Safari" browser and enter the "localhost" in the address bar and press "Return" on the keyboard. The apache has been successfully started.

YouAPI-1


Facebook Page Like Box ::